Behind the Blog: Tasha at The Bookie Monsters

Behind the BlogSay hello to Tasha from The Bookie Monsters!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a guitar playing, book reading, coffee drinking, scarf wearing, panda loving, wannabe author living in the UK.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

In August 2013 I’d just finished The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and I felt compelled to write about my thoughts. I already had a film blog and I thought I’d start a book one and that was when The Bookie Monsters was born.


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I am not a fussy person. I’m a true believer in not judging a book by its cover. From the age of 16/17 up until recently I would often go to the library and just pick up the first book my hand passed over on the ‘Quick Reads’ section. But I do adore reading contemporary fiction.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I’m currently studying a Creative Writing and Film Studies course at University so you could say that the way I write my reviews has changed – I used to be quite chatty but by habit I now have quite a methodical approach to writing reviews. I’m also a Bookbridgr blogger, so I’m lucky enough to receive ARCs and press copies of books which means that my reviews can be quite exclusive in the run up to a book’s publication.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Go for what you know, and what you’re interested in. If you have a hobby (for me it’s reading books and reviewing films) then move that online. If you’re still struggling but you still want to blog then perhaps you could move your journal online. Not so much your deepest secrets, but almost like a daily vlogger on YouTube would talk about their day, what they saw, and what products they’re liking, you could very much do the same concept but behind a computer screen instead of a camera!

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I adore diverse characters. I’ve read so many stereotypes that I demand more complex main characters! I also love characters with strong relationships with one another – I’m done with the love triangle concept!

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

When I go to a bookstore like WHSmith or Waterstones it’s very much just to browse. I could spend hours there and the majority of the time I come out with no books but this insatiable need to buy them all! When I go to a second-hand bookstore though, I’m guaranteed to go on a haul!

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I read recently that a lot more people were going back to books instead of relying on their Kindles and I hope that this continues to rise. I understand the convenience of a Kindle, but nothing beats the smell of an old book, or even just simply turning the pages!

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

My biggest recommendation in 2014 was Mark Evans’ Bleak Expectations just because I found it so very funny.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

I’ve recently started a segment called ‘Tea With Tash’ on The Bookie Monsters, which is a chatty segment about everything happening in the world or in my life, which I hope to continue. I’m also hoping to create a segment with the writing prompts in 642 Things To Write About!

Anything else you’d like to add?

Thank you very much for having me!

Thanks Tasha!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here.

2 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Tasha at The Bookie Monsters

  1. Pingback: Tea With Tash Episode | 11 | The Bookie Monsters

  2. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: February 2015 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

