Book Review: “The 5th Wave”

“The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave #1)” by Rick Yancey

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction

GoodreadsOther books in the series

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

review

The invasion was really creepy. I liked that it didn’t happen all at once. It happened over a small amount of time. That just builds the suspense. Then we get the big twist and that’s even creepier. I still can’t shake that creepy feeling.

I was really looking forward to ‘living’ through the invasion. I was really hoping the book would open right around the time of the invasion so we could see how the world falls apart through all the waves. I was definitely a bit disappointed that we got to see the invasion mostly through ‘flashbacks’. It worked out okay because we did get the information we needed to know what had happened but it was almost a bit too detached for me. I wanted to go through it as it was happening because it always makes it a bit more personal for me.

I hated the different narrators. What I REALLY hated was the different sections aren’t labeled in any way. On top of that the narrators aren’t that different. To me they sound like the same person. It takes too long to orient yourself and figure out who’s talking, what’s happening, and what has already happened when you’re jumping from character to character.

Like I said, the voices aren’t that different. That makes it hard for me to really rally behind people when you don’t know them that well.

The romance? Ugh. Did it really need to be there? How boring and cliche is it for an “Other” to fall for a human girl? It was interesting to hear that not all the Others agree about what to do with the humans though.

The bottom line? It was a fast paced, enjoyable story.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: “The 5th Wave”

  1. I recently quit this one because the different narrator thing was getting to me. It totally blew the tension and creepiness of the first part of the story for me when I was jerked back and forth between different narrators. And them not being labeled was REALLY confusing. I hated not knowing who I was dealing with for pages on end, especially since, like you said they weren’t easily differentiated. The story came to a screeching halt when I reached Sammy’s narration and I just decided I didn’t care any more what was going on. I don’t really think I’m missing out on much, from what I hear, though, so I guess my time is better spent on something else!

    • Awww, sorry you couldn’t finish the book Elizabeth. It’s good to know I wasn’t the only annoyed with the narrators! I did have a lot of annoyances with the book but I was pretty happy when I finished it though.

  2. I started this one but didn’t finish. I enjoyed what I read, don’t get me wrong…. I just put it down and never picked it back up! I would like to finish because I’ve had some blogger friends rave about it. I don’t think I even made it to the second narrator.. haha!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

