Book Review: “Emerald Green”

“Emerald Green (Ruby Red Trilogy #3)” by Kerstin Gier

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy

GoodreadsOther Ruby Red Trilogy books

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

Gwen has a destiny to fulfill, but no one will tell her what it is.


She’s only recently learned that she is the Ruby, the final member of the time-traveling Circle of Twelve, and since then nothing has been going right. She suspects the founder of the Circle, Count Saint-German, is up to something nefarious, but nobody will believe her. And she’s just learned that her charming time-traveling partner, Gideon, has probably been using her all along.


This stunning conclusion picks up where Sapphire Blue left off, reaching new heights of intrigue and romance as Gwen finally uncovers the secrets of the time-traveling society and learns her fate.

review

I’m so happy that this conclusion lived up to my expectations.  It took what I liked about the other books and amplified those likeable aspects. Lesley and Gwen’s immediate family were a powerhouse of support for her. They really raised the bar for helpfulness. Gwen continues to fight for some knowledge. Xemerius continued to be hilarious as well as incredibly helpful and useful.

I think most of my questions were answered in the book. It’s a bit hard to tell since I’m still trying to wrap my head around what happened. There is a lot of confusion but it’s good confusion. I predicted some things (Gwen’s connection to Lucy and Paul) but there were so many other twists and turns that I never saw coming. I devoured most of the book in an afternoon since I couldn’t bear to put it down.

I like Gwen but I wasn’t totally pleased with how she behaved around Gideon. I get that you probably like him but stop with the love mush! I’m not exactly sure of the timeline of the book but the trilogy takes place over a very short period of time (1-2 months). I understand he hurt you but there’s no need to wallow in sadness. While, we’re on the subject Gideon definitely had some jerkish qualities. Despite those annoyances, I mostly liked the both of them. They had annoying qualities but they were real annoying qualities. I could really picture them as normal, real people.

The bottom line? Good ending to a good series. The Ruby Red Trilogy is highly recommended for readers looking for a fantasy with characters that feel very real.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)