Book Review: “The Color of Magic”

“The Color of Magic (Discworld #1)” by Terry Pratchett

Genre: Adult Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Bought

Other Discworld books

Summary from Goodreads:

On a world supported on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown), a gleeful, explosive, wickedly eccentric expedition sets out. There’s an avaricious but inept wizard, a naive tourist whose luggage moves on hundreds of dear little legs, dragons who only exist if you believe in them, and of course THE EDGE of the planet…

review

Normally when you have people warning you about a book before you read it, it’s a bad sign. I have to say I’m glad I was warned about the book. I was warned that the book is written to be funny and it’s more of a spoof than anything. That was the biggest help to me. Going into the book knowing it’s supposed to be humorous made it so much more enjoyable. I don’t know if I would have quite “got” that otherwise. Others warned me that it’s not Terry Pratchett’s best book in the series. That makes me feel even better. I liked this book so I should enjoy the other books more, right?

The humor was enjoyable enough. I didn’t find it laugh out loud funny. To me it was more silly than anything. A wizard who can only do one spell? The world is supported on the back of a giant turtle? Come on, that’s pretty silly.

In some respects, the humor was a bit too much for me. I like funny stories as much as the next person but for me there is such a thing as too much humor. Some places felt like Pratchett was just trying to poke fun at the fantasy genre and not telling the story. I wish he had focused a bit more on his story and didn’t worry as much about being satirical.

This is definitely one of those books you need to be a fantasy fan to appreciate and “get” the story. That’s not to say that non-fantasy fans couldn’t/shouldn’t read the book though. I really don’t think they’d enjoy it though.

Rating 3/5

Funny enough. I’d probably pick up another book in the series at some point.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Color of Magic”

  1. I have actually been told that this is not a good starting point for the series even though it is technically the first book written… So, if that is the case you might find the series gets better.

  2. The later Discworld books are definitely better! Although I’m glad you still liked this one. My favorite DW book is probably Equal Rites, or maybe Thief of Time. TP’s also written some YA Discworld books that are really good– the Tiffany Aching books are probably the best known ones, but I haven’t read them yet. And he’s also got some good non-DW books as well: Good Omens, which I think I’ve told you to read before, and Nation, a YA book which you can still get for $0.99 for your Kindle! Definitely get Nation, if you can.

    If you can find it, I’d also recommend watching the TV show adaptation of Hogfather. It’s my favorite of all the TV show adaptations, and it’s really well done. I know the DVD was released in the US, so you might be able to get it from Netflix or the library or something.

    • Oooh. Thanks for the tips. I ❤ you and all your advice! I just downloaded Nation. I might not get to it for a while but that's a super good deal.

      Thanks! I will keep that in mind the next time I look for something to rent/watch.

  3. Pingback: Book Review – The Color of Magic « Mad Hatter Miscellany

  4. Thanks for the review and the warnings… I’d heard it wasn’t his best either. So far I’ve only read Mort and Going Postal, which were lots of fun. I’ve been thinking of going back and starting at the beginning, though. At least now I’ll have a better idea of what to expect. And thanks for including my link!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

