Book Review: “Walk Two Moons”

Cover of

Cover via Amazon

“Walk Two Moons” by Sharon Creech

Genre: Middle Grade Fiction, Children’s Fiction

GoodreadsSource: Bought

Summary from Goodreads:

“How about a story? Spin us a yarn.”
Instantly, Phoebe Winterbottom came to mind. “I could tell you an extensively strange story,” I warned.
“Oh, good!” Gram said. “Delicious!”
And that is how I happened to tell them about Phoebe, her disappearing mother, and the lunatic.

As Sal entertains her grandparents with Phoebe’s outrageous story, her own story begins to unfold — the story of a thirteen-year-old girl whose only wish is to be reunited with her missing mother.

In her own award-winning style, Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.

review

I’m a bit shocked I didn’t read this as a kid, this would have been right up my alley. To be perfectly honest, I hadn’t even heard of this book until college. I had to take a few education classes for my minor and several of my teachers and peers raved about this book. I knew I needed to pick it up.

The story is completely delightful. I find that a lot of children’s or middle grade authors have a hard time writing in the voice of a young person. Most of the time it sounds awkward or what an adult thinks a tween should sound like. Creech captured the voice of a 13 year old perfectly. Sal is the perfect narrator for the story. She has a ‘bounce’ to her voice and a bit of silliness in her storytelling skills.

The actual story is cool. There is the outer frame of the story, Sal and her Grandparents going to Idaho, and the inner frame of the story, Sal telling the story of Phoebe.  It doesn’t get messy like some framed stories can. It is a bit frustrating though because I wanted to know more about the inner story. I didn’t want to stop for the night just because they did!

Sal is a wonderful character. She is so realistic and she draws you in with her story. You start to feel as if you really know her and her family. You laugh at jokes with them. You cry at heartbreak. She definitely feels like a “real person”.

Phoebe is an interesting character. Phoebe is that kid who makes up wild, outlandish stories that are completely unbelievable but a small part of you believes. I thought it was funny that Gram said she had a friend that was like that because I too had a friend like that growing up. I loved just how realistic she was.

The twists and turns in the book are good. I was able to predict a few things. The end of the book completely blindsided me though. Minor spoiler?-Don’t finish the book in public. You might cry like I did.

Rating 4/5

Highly recommended especially if you like children’s fiction, middle grade fiction, and/or road trips.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: “Walk Two Moons”

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

