Monthly Round Up: October 2011

October was fairly slow month but slow is fine with me. I’ve started to ‘grow up’ as far as being a blogger goes. I no longer feel like I need to write content everyday. If I have something to write or share everyday, I’m going to post everyday. If I don’t have much to say, I’ll just refrain from posting.

I’ve also got better at filtering review requests. At the beginning I was just so flattered that anyone wanted my opinion, I just accepted the books even if they weren’t something I’d normally want to read. I’m still flattered but now I treat them like any other book, if it’s not something that sounds interesting to me I’m not going to read it. Life’s too short to read books that I’m not really interested in.

How do you deal with review requests that aren’t exactly your cup of tea?

Books read and reviewed this month:

“Marcelo in the Real World” by Francisco X. Stork
“Cleopatra’s Daughter”
by Michelle Moran
“The Son of Neptune (The Heroes of Olympus #2)”
by Rick Riordan
“The Princess Bride”
by William Goldman
“The Secret Adversary”
by Agatha Christie
“The Tale of Despereaux”
by Kate DiCamillo
“The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking #2)”
by Patrick Ness
“Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children”
by Ranson Riggs
“The Island of Lost Maps” by Miles Harvey

Favorites/books you should read: “Marcelo in the Real World” by Francisco X. Stork/“The Son of Neptune (The Heroes of Olympus #2)” by Rick Riordan/ “The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking #2)” by Patrick Ness

9 books read. Only 1 was from the library so I did a fairly good job of working on my TBR pile at home. I only read 2 books that fell into my “spooky” goal for the month. Oh well.

Other possible interesting posts:

What’s in store for November? I’m reading The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins for Reading Buddies over at Erin Reads. I guess I should say I’m going to attempt to read it. It’s 672 pages long but I have all month to read it. I looked through it quickly and from what I can see there are 3 major parts to the story. I think I’m going to discuss my thoughts on each section when I finish the section and tie my final thoughts into the last post rather than write one review for the whole thing. At least that’s my plan so far. Of course things may changes as I read it and get a better feel for how things are divided.

I don’t want to make any huge plans this month because the holiday season is here now. Not to mention I’ve started reapplying for seasonal jobs so I’m hoping to get something soon. I’d like to read Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness and Specials by Scott Westerfeld this month.  That’s all I really have planned.

Do you have any big plans for November?

2 thoughts on “Monthly Round Up: October 2011

  1. You read quite a diverse amount of literature which is awesome. 9 books in a month is a lot for me but I won’t let myself read until I’ve written my word quota for the day.

    Like you, I’ve become better at filtering my requests. If it isn’t something I’ll read, I usually don’t respond. Or if it I receive a book from a publisher that isn’t something I’ll read, I’ll give it away on the blog.

    Great question! That’s something that all bloggers go through, I think.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)