Recently: November 23rd

Hello all!

Hope all is well with you. I’m still enjoying my hiatus from book blogging but thought I do a quick stop in to briefly discuss some of what I’ve been reading since I paused blogging.

I finished listening to the Artemis Fowl series. I wouldn’t say I loved the series but I certainly enjoyed listening to them all. I still think it’s a very odd MG series. Other than a tween/teen protagonist, there’s nothing very MG about the books. Oh well, they’re definitely worth listening to if you need an engaging audio series.

I’ve read quite a few graphic novels! I discovered the Amulet series by Kazu Kibuishi and read everything that’s been published so far. I found them enjoyable enough. The Ariol series by Emmanuel Guibert was cute. It’s reminiscent of Diary of a Wimpy Kid but with a more realistic kid’s voice and not so mean spirited. Nimona was just a enjoyable as everyone said it was.

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson gave me hope that this will be a strong series like Fire and Thorns. I didn’t think westerns would be my thing but it was surprisingly enjoyable.

I’m always on the fence about Contemporary YA but Dumplin’ was fantastic. I loved how positive and powerful it was.

Jackaby and Beastly Bones by William Ritter were great fun. I roll my eyes when books make lofty comparisons. I initially held off on reading the books because how much like Doctor Who and Sherlock could they really be? It was surprisingly spot on. Jackaby is a fast talking, slightly arrogant smart-ass who has mostly good intentions like some other characters we know and love.The paranormal element was fun. I can’t wait for the next installment.

I had high hopes but was rather disappointed by The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. I guess I’m getting a bit tired of rehashing the basics of the story with different names and mythologies. I was just hoping for something a bit more. I’m sure younger readers looking for humor and adventure will enjoy the book though.

I got on a roll and read Raven Rise and The Soldiers of Halla by D.J. MacHale. It’s weird to finally be done with the Pendragon books. I’ve been slowly reading them over the past 4? years or so. I’ve really enjoyed them so it’s been nice knowing that I always had another one to pick up when I was ready for it. Overall, I thought the series was well done. It was adventurous but explored some really interesting ideas. It was a lot deeper than most other MG/YA books I’ve read. It got weirdly metaphysical towards the end but it’s okay if you can look past that. I’ve definitely had a major book hangover from the ending.

Happy Holidays and thanks for stopping by!

Feel free to catch me over at The Pseudo Librarian or @librarianpseudo

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

