Quick Thoughts: “Code Name Verity”

“Code Name Verity (Code Name Verity #1)” by Elizabeth Wein

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Historical Fiction

GoodreadsOther Code Name Verity books

Source: Bought

Summary from Goodreads:

Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun.

When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.

As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage, failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from the enemy?

reviewThe story was very interesting. I wasn’t really expecting this kind of story. I was thrown off by the style. Verity’s part of the story was the most confusing for me. It was hard to track the jumps in time and the slight madness that was taking her over. The shift to Maddie’s story was a nice twist because I wasn’t expecting that.

The style made it difficult to fully connect with either girl. As a result I never fully loved the story. I enjoyed it. It was powerful but I didn’t love it.

I really loved the friendship between the girls. It makes my heart happy to see such friendship and love between women. The only thing that made me really sad was all of the interactions we saw between the girls was in the past. We never witnessed them together in the present.

The bottom line? It was great to see two different female perspectives of the war.

12 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “Code Name Verity”

  1. I felt the same way – CNV should have been right in my wheel house because I love WW2 fiction, but it just didn’t work for me. I’ve always wondered if going back and doing the audiobook that came highly recommended would be worth it. I listened to the second book (Rose Under Fire) and enjoyed it much much more

  2. Pingback: Listed: Secret Agents and Spies | The Cheap Reader

  3. I loved this book! It made me bawl. Sorry that you didn’t enjoy it! But, as a total aside, did you see this?

    Not sure if you are on facebook or not, but it’s a cool little piece about a WWII woman spy named “Agent Rose” and they mention Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire at the end. I’ve also read Rose Under Fire, and while I didn’t find it as wrenching as Code Name Verity, I thought it was remarkable.

  4. What distanced me from the book wasn’t the absence of the girls interacting in teh present, so much as Elizabeth Wein’s apparent need to include all the details about everything to do with planes, forever. It’s awesome that she’s apparently so well-versed in plane stuff, but damn did it get tedious sometimes.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

