What I Want To See Less Of (3)

I thought it would be fun to talk about what I as a reader would like to see less of in Young Adult (and Middle Grade) books.

MIA Family

I know not having parents around makes the story easier to tell but where’s the love for parents and families? Family is a big thing. It’s our first relationship in life. They cause us many headaches but they also bring us much joy.

I’m desperate to see more involved families in books. We see many families that don’t care and we also see families that are kidnapped or killed which sets our hero(ine) off on their journey. Very rarely do families stick around. Where are the families that love and care for the kids but know to give them space to save the world?

The Lynburn Legacy does a great job of balancing a loving family and allowing Kami do what needs to be done. Can we have more families like that?!

Traditional  Paranormal Creatures

Vampires, werewolves, and other creatures have been done to death. Let’s move on. There are ways to use these creatures in a new way. Less romanticizing these creatures and more fear.

I’d really be interested to see authors digging into mythology and other lore to find some different creatures. The Monstrumologist series was really interesting. There were many monsters but nothing we were really familiar with. The Wendigo was like a zombie but not exactly. It was still new and interesting.

Crappy World Building

I’m totally on board with your crazy, bizarre world. How did it get to this point? Why? It can’t be that way just because the author said so. There needs to be more thought to it. It’s getting really annoying to read books and be confused or have a million questions about the world. I know you want people to read more of the book or continue a series but things should be explained a bit.

join-thefun

What do you want to see less of in your books?

I’m talking about what I Want to See More Of over here.

Future installments of What I Want to See Less Of are here.

15 thoughts on “What I Want To See Less Of (3)

  1. Try – Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I think she literally does away with all three of your complaints. Its a trilogy so be ready to read three books and its not YA. Good luck. Would love to hear what you think.

  2. not just the MIA family – but the family that is so dysfunctional you wonder how they function – I remember reading one a few years ago (totally blanking on name) – one daughter had an eating disorder; the other had been sexually assaulted; the mom was having an affair and the dad was an alcoholic (or something along those lines) – the only person in the family that didn’t have an issue was like the 6yo boy

  3. I really like this post idea, and I totally agree with your points! Especially the MIA family situation. The only book where I can of parents present and caring for their child is in The Fault in Our Stars. Every other book is basically a teenager living on their own!

  4. I completely agree with all of these! I think the last one is my biggest pet peeve in books. I’m reading this book to escape to a new world, but if it doesn’t make sense or there’s basically no explanation, I’m out.

  5. I know what you mean about needing more concrete family units in YA. We always get strong families storylines when something negative like abuse is occurring but it’s rare that we get it just to celebrate a warm, loving confiding environment. Books that have a strong element of family are usually some of my favourite reads.
    I complete agree about needing good world building! World building is like the foundation of any fantastic read, it’s the thing that make us want to live in that world. We all want to go to Hogwarts because J. K. made it sound so bloody cool! Great post 🙂

    • It would be wonderful to get to see strong, loving families in books just because. I’m sure many of us have that so why not feature it in our books?
      Good old, J.K.. That world building was magical. We’re still learning things about it to this day.

  6. “How did it get to this point” is something I always want more of! I made a term a while ago, “process dystopia,” to refer to books where you get to see the downfall of civilization, instead of coming in years after it happened. When an author does it well, it’s one of my most favorite things in dystopian fiction.

    • Oooh I like that term. I’m with you. I love reading about how things fall about. I still like reading about the aftermath as well but there’s something really interesting about seeing how things deteriorate in books.

  7. I’m with you on the paranormal creatures. I won’t read anything about vampires or werewolves anymore.

    As for families, I find that MG books tend to have supportive, loving families more than YA books. Maybe it’s because teens are at the age where they rebel against their parents, and publishers don’t think they want to read about parents in books targeted to them?

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

