Quick Thoughts: “World After”

“World After (Penryn & the End of Days #2)” by Susan Ee

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Post Apocalyptic

Other Penryn & the End of Days books

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

review

  • The story is still very interesting.  Once again I had no idea where we were going to end up.
  • I liked that the story was a bit dark. It’s scary what the angels did to the kids if Paige was any indication of what was going on. The locust people were creepy as well.
  • I’m still liking Penryn and Raffe’s relationship. It’s clear that they care for each other but I wouldn’t call it a romantic relationship. It’s a friendship? with them viewing each other as equals despite being on opposite sides.
  • Man, Ee continues to leave us on these cliffhangers! Oh well, thankfully I discovered this series fairly close to book 3’s release. I shouldn’t have to wait too long.

The bottom line? While I enjoyed the book, I didn’t love it as much as Angelfall.

2 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “World After”

  1. Hahahaha, I guess this answers my question from earlier! Okay, I WILL read on in this series, but I’ll wait until all three books are out. Best for everyone that way. I’d love it if Raffe and Penryn’s relationship remained platonic, honestly — you see that so rarely in YA trilogies, it would be refreshing.

    • This would be a great series to binge read. I read the first two books back to back. I can’t wait to pick up the final book. I would love for their relationship to stay platonic as well. We need more platonic relationships in YA books.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

