Quick Thoughts: “The Westing Game”

“The Westing Game” by Ellen Raskin

Genre: Children’s/Middle Grade Fiction, Mystery

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

A bizarre chain of events begins when sixteen unlikely people gather for the reading of Samuel W. Westing’s will. And though no one knows why the eccentric, game-loving millionaire has chosen a virtual stranger – and a possible murderer – to inherit his vast fortune, one things’ for sure: Sam Westing may be dead… but that won’t stop him from playing one last game!

review

  • Good mystery story. There wasn’t just one story going on. We had little mysteries going on throughout the entire story.
  • I couldn’t see pieces come together. I like to be able to try to solve the mystery as the story goes along. You couldn’t do that with the story.
  • Lots of twists. I never knew what was going to happen.
  • Doesn’t feel horribly dated. It doesn’t feel too old fashion. I’d be happy to give this to a kid looking for a good mystery.
  • The story is definitely re-readable. I listened to it so I’m sure I overlooked some parts of the story (plus the disks were pretty scratched). I’d like to read the book again some time.

The bottom line? Fun mystery!

5 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “The Westing Game”

  1. Aw, I love this book! Apparently Ellen Raskin never knew what the mystery was going to lead to until the end — which is crazy to me, because it seems like such a constructed story, with so many component parts. But, props to her.

  2. This is one of the few books that I enjoyed reading in middle school. It was part of a class and the teacher overtaught the book, but I still love it. Unlike you, I loved that I could not figure out the mystery. It is very unusual for me to be surprised in a book, so I love it when an author can pull it off. The characters were interesting (I mean, someone named Turtle cannot be boring). Great review!

  3. Pingback: Quick Thoughts: “Book Scavenger” | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

