Unboxing April 2015 Uppercase Box and Final Verdict

This month is my third month of Uppercase box. This box will decide whether I keep my subscription or cut it.  Let’s see what I got!


Fresh Out of the Mailer

the package

The Book

Signed copy of The Start of Me And You by Emery Lord

I don’t hate contemporary fiction but I don’t love it either. I was a bit disappointed to get another one.

IMG_0125

I thought it was pretty cool that Uppercase is trying out some interactive activities.  There were quite a few of these post-its sprinkled through the book.

The Accessories

PrintAn exclusive print of a quote from the book.

Goodies

A pin (from the book?) and some bookish magnets.

Verdict? Eh on the book but the accessories were cute.

Final Verdict on Uppercase

If you read a variety of Young Adult books (contemporary to fantasy), love new releases and can afford $30 a month, Uppercase would be a great pick for you.

For those strapped on cash and are a genre loyalist, Uppercase might not be the best bet for you.

For me personally, I stick pretty close to fantasy/sci fi so my subscription has been disappointing. Only 1 of the 3 books I received was something I was excited for. I do have to say that for that one book (Red Queen), their pick was absolutely spot on.

The accessories were mostly duds for me. I’m never going to use the sunglasses. I don’t use candles but I liked the idea of a bookish candle. The magnets are the only thing I might actually use.

Overall, it was fun to get goodies every month but I can’t afford a subscription this pricey that doesn’t fit me perfectly. With that said, I think I will be cancelling my subscription. I do wish Uppercase the best of luck and I will keep an eye on their picks in the future. I may get them from the library. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Unboxing April 2015 Uppercase Box and Final Verdict

  1. Pingback: Quick Thoughts: “The Start of Me and You” | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

