Book Review: “The Death Cure”

“The Death Cure (The Maze Runner #3)” by James Dashner

Genre: Young Adult Fiction,  Science Fiction, Dystopia

Other Maze Runner books

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

reviewThis series’ strongest trait has always been readability. It’s action packed and mysterious. It’s a perfect match for a book that you don’t want to put down.

Unfortunately the characterizations haven’t got better. I don’t feel much for many of the characters. Brenda is suppose to be a love interest now? Her and Thomas have about as much chemistry as a wet fish. Teresa wasn’t much better. She wasn’t around much in the past books but I was bored with her. We had all these deaths and I really didn’t feel much. Newt’s situation was the only one that really got to me.

The final conclusions felt pretty disappointing. We never fully learned everything because Thomas never got his memories back. The Immunes are released to paradise? Okay, where are they? They have 2 “agents” with them. Who are they and how do we know this isn’t a bigger set up? There were just so many things that weren’t answered.

The bottom line? The series makes for an entertaining read but the stories were ultimately unfulfilling. You could probably read The Maze Runner and walk away fine.

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Death Cure”

  1. Oh man, I am sad to see you say that you could read the maze runner and walk away (although I almost did the same). I found the last installment Death Cure to be much more fulfilling than either the Maze Runner and Scorch Trials. I thought it wrapped up the series quite nicely and had the action I was hoping for in the other two. Personally, I feel like if you are going to take any book out, the Scorch Trials could probably go, lol. I couldn’t really get into it until about 60 percent through. I do agree with your love interest dilemma though. I put the romance on the backburner and just focused on Thomas’ reaction as I did not like either Brenda or Teresa. I thought it was a highly plausibly post-apocalyptic dystopian tale though. I had really hoped Thomas would remember enough on his own to get us into the know,.. Or perhaps Teresa would tell Thomas? Something to give us a better clue to what all happened aside from the few flashbacks and the ending note. You’re spot on with character development-> Newt’s situation had me in tears but I didn’t feel anything towards Teresa or Brenda. Overall, this happened to be my favorite in the series, though I can see why you would disagree!

    • I’m glad to hear you liked it, Ashley! Maybe if I had read all the books closer together I would have enjoyed them more but I just didn’t feel it.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

