Introducing Diverse Pairings

As a library paraprofessional and an avid reader, I’m a fan of the We Need Diverse Books campaign. It can be difficult to get books into the hands of readers if you’re not quite sure how to ‘sell’ the books. I thought I would try out a feature where I pair a book with a companion Diverse book. If a reader likes one book, they’re sure to enjoy the other one.

I’ve got a few ideas for some pairings but I would love help.

If you have any great pairings, let me know! I’d love to feature them. I will be primarily focusing on YA and MG books.

4 thoughts on “Introducing Diverse Pairings

  1. I love this idea, and I hope it gets a lot of use. Kudos!

    What sort of help are you thinking of? When you review something I know, I’ll gladly chime in with a diverse match when I know of one. Is that what you’re thinking, or do you have something else in mind?

    I’ve been making a concerted effort to incorporate as many diverse titles as possible into my displays, and the response has been very encouraging. (I run the YA section at my library.) For my V-day romance displays, the LGBT titles I had displayed checked out almost instantly, and it made me so happy. I hope your blog feature goes just as successfully.

    • I’m open for any kind of help really. Probably the easiest kind of help would be coming up with a book and a Diverse companion book for it with a few reasons why they “go” together. (example Smile and El Deafo are great companion reads because they’re graphic semi-autobiographical novels.)

      That’s awesome to hear!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

