Behind the Blog: Fatima at Book Whizz

Behind the BlogHavvvvve you met Fatima from Book Whizz?

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Well, I’m 14 years old, a freshman, and I’ve loved books since elementary school. I like bands such as All Time Low, Sleeping with Sirens, Pierce the Veil, 5 Seconds of Summer and I also like anime. My birthday is on Christmas. Oh! I’d like to go to college in France and major in astrophysics then become an
astronomer!

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I talk about books at home 24/7. My whole family’s sick of it. Whenever I finish a book I like, I want to let out all these emotions but I know no one would care. My friends read books, but only rarely, and they can’t keep up with my book reading habits. One day, I was surfing the Internet and came across a book blog. I saw one of their book reviews and was amazed at how everyone in the comments was interacting and talking about the book together. I searched up book blogs for a few days after that until I made the decision to start a book blog myself.  It feels so good talking about something you love to others with the same interest!


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

Anything YA. My blog is mainly centered around young adult fantasy and young adult dystopia.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I live in the Middle East and it’s very hard to find fellow bookworms where I live, much less bookworms who write book reviews on their book blogs.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Don’t blog for free books. Be consistent and regular in posting. Interact with other blogs, you may make new friends. Write and post whatever you want but keep your audience’s preferences in mind, too.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I’m usually drawn to books with strong female characters who know what they’re doing. For example, Celaena in the Throne of Glass series.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I usually go to bookstores with a mental list of books I want to purchase. After I buy them all, I browse for ones that weren’t on my list on the next bookstore trip.

What book trends do you hope to see more of? 

I would love to see more fiction books about mythology. I haven’t really seen much of that, aside from Rick Riordan’s books.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Anything by Rick Riordan, the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer, and anything by Stephanie Perkins and Jenny Han.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Yes! My blog is the first stop for the Desert Blood blog tour by Brian Young. Make sure you stop by Book Whizz on February 18th because there’s going to be a $25 Rogue Phoenix Press Gift Card giveaway!  You can use that to buy books from the publisher!

Anything else you’d like to add? 

I love your ‘Behind the Blog’ feature, it’s such a great idea! Thanks for accepting me! 🙂

Thanks Fatima!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here.

3 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Fatima at Book Whizz

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

