Behind the Blog: Laura at nomorethanbooks

Behind the BlogGreetings to Laura from nomorethanbooks!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Laura and I’m from the UK. You’ll usually find me with my nose in a book! My dream is to one day work in publishing!

notmorethanbooksHow did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

Books are one of my main passions in life and I love to talk about them – deciding to start a blog was the perfect outlet for me to do this!


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

Primarily Young Adult and New Adult. I also love a lot of classics too!

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I’m actually studying for a degree in English, meaning that I really do get a different perspective on books – I love to see the ways in which writers have crafted their works.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

As cliché as it may sound, never give up! To be a success in the blogging world, you have to work hard for it. Keep posting, keep communicating with other bloggers, and most importantly, keep reading!

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

Diversity. It’s common knowledge that literature needs to become more diverse and include LGBTQ characters, characters from a wider range of backgrounds, characters who suffer with mental illness and so on. Any book that manages to include aspects of life that aren’t usually included in literature is something that I’m always interested in.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

Normally I’ve got a few books in mind that I’d like to look for, and look for them. However if I’m ever unsure on what to look for I get my phone out and look at my TBR list on Goodreads!

What book trends do you hope to see more of? 

As I mentioned above, we really need more diversity in books. This is one thing I would love to see more and more writers publish books about!

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

One book I always recommend to people is The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time by Mark Haddon. It’s a pretty popular book already, but I recommend it to everyone who hasn’t read it. It also helps create awareness of Asperger’s Syndrome! I would also recommend Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell to everyone too – it’s a beautiful story which stays with you for a long time!

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

In March I am attending a book event with Gayle Forman, so I will definitely be blogging about that!

Anything else you’d like to add? 

Thank you for featuring me in this lovely feature! ​

Thanks Laura!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

