Behind the Blog: Felicia at A Silly Girl’s Thoughts

Behind the BlogHowdy Felicia from A Silly Girl’s Thoughts!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Well, what’s there to say? Truth be told, I’m pretty average, I think. I’m from Denmak, I’m 23 years old. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Dramatugy. I love theatre, and if I could have it my way, I would just make theatre for the rest of my life.
I’m a big fan of reading books and comic books and watching movies and tv-shows. My main fandom is Harry Potter, but I also quite like Doctor Who, The Lord of the Rings, Game of Thrones and a lot of other stuff. Not a big Sherlock-fan though.
Oh, and I’m scared dead of rats, and I drink too much. Also I don’t plan on having children ever.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I have had a few blogs before, but none of them have been very successful. In fact when I started this blog, I had no idea I would actually get followers, and I’m so grateful for all of them!
I didn’t plan on becoming a book blogger. I made my blog to tell the story of my very first heartbreak which I experienced at the age of 22(which is probably sort of late in life), and I was surprised to see that people were actually reading it.
Then Karina from ‘I, Fat Robot’ nominated me for the Liebster Award, even though I wasn’t an actual book blogger, and then I started doing some book things in addition to my story.
At the time of writing, I have fourteen chapters left of my story, and when that’s done, I’ll change my blog into being entirely about books, perhaps until something new happens to me that I want to share with the world.


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I have a guilty pleasure for fantasy and science fiction. Really, as much as all my literature teachers would hate me for saying it, I can’t take my hands off a good fantasy or sci-fi book. I love them.
I do like modern contemporary books too, but nothing with romance in them. I’m not a huge romance and YA fan.
I feel like I should read more classics, but truth be told, I don’t enjoy it very much. I read them just be able to tell people I’ve read them, but I have to fight my way through them.
I like historic books too and books taking place in the Dark Ages. And everything with zombies.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

It sounds boring, but I’m not sure I’m very unique. I would say the only unique thing about me is the way I write my story, so once I’m done with that, I’m not quite sure what my ‘brand’ will be.
A lot of bloggers read and review books that I totally not my style, so I hope to catch the followers that like the same books as I do.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Be consistent.
Respond to comments.
Follow other people’s blogs – also because a lot of them are really good reading.
And most importantly: Blog about something you’re interested in.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

Deep and meaningful characters with lots of awesome sides and lots of flaws. There’s nothing worse than shallow characters. It doesn’t matter how good a story is and how well thought out the idea is, if the characters don’t work for me, nothing works for me.
The same goes about the universe. A generally well thought-out universe that’s fully described is always a bookish turn-on.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I usually just browse and register a lot of the books to Goodreads. Because I have no money, so I can’t afford too many books. Sometimes I deliberately leave my credit card at home when going to a bookstore.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

‘Room’ by Emma Donoghue – but no one reads it! I’m all alone, and I want someone to talk to about it, but geez, none of my friends will read it, and it’s so awesome!
And of course, if people haven’t read Harry Potter, they will get beat in the head with it. (Kidding – but I actually read book 7 out loud to my boyfriend-at-the-time, because he hadn’t read it, and I couldn’t have a boyfriend who hadn’t read all the Harry Potter books.)

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

The last chapters of my story. The re-cap of 2014. My 2015 reading challenge. And of course a lot of book reviews.

 

Thanks Felicia!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here.

3 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Felicia at A Silly Girl’s Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: February 2015 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

