Behind the Blog: Susie at Home With Susie

Behind the BlogSay hello to Susie from Home with Susie!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Well my name is Susie, and I’m currently in Tennessee. I guess a nifty reason I was introduced to reading is that my mom is deaf, so when I was little, my grandmother read to me every chance she got to make sure I learned how to talk 🙂

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

Well, I’m obsessed with pinterest, and I love tumblr. I just didn’t feel like I was funny enough or unique enough to add to that, so I took my old blog I used to show off DIY stuff and switched things up


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I really don’t discriminate, I’ll read almost anything. If I HAD to pick, I’d say maybe fantasy, Sci-Fi or mystery/suspense.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I don’t really think I have anything that makes me stand out, I’m pretty quirky so my tastes might be a little different than the average mid 20s gal 🙂

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

As silly as it is, pretty covers always catch my eye. When it comes to the book itself, I love an underdog or a seemingly impossible situation that needs to be sorted. I’m really into british authors at the moment because of their wit and sarcasm. I catch myself laughing out loud in coffee shops 😉

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I have to have at least some kind of list or guideline. I’m very much like a kid in a candy store and will try to buy anything and everything. I’ll have a few books in mind and if I bring at least one home, I’m happy.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

Hmmm this is a tough one, I guess I’d say the amazing strong lead women we’ve had recently like Tris Pryor from Divergent, Katniss from Hunger Games, and an older fav of mine Anita Blake by Laurell K. Hamilton.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz, The Selection by Kiera Cass, The Sookie Stackhouse novels by Charlene Harris, and Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Well, I’m working on just getting my groove at the moment. I’m working on my 2015 reading challenges and meeting as many other bloggers as I can !

 

Thanks Susie!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here.

One thought on “Behind the Blog: Susie at Home With Susie

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: February 2015 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

