Behind the Blog: Megan at Color Me This Way

Behind the BlogGreetings Megan from Color Me This Way!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am currently attending college in California, in my 3rd year. I haven’t always been a huge reader, I actually really disliked it throughout middle school, but when I hit high school I started loving the books that were assigned in class; The Great Gatsby, Brave New World, Their Eyes Were Watching God, and so many more! Then my mom bought me a random boon my Meg Cabot, which ultimately gave me a huge push. I think I read all her books, but the one book that I was in love with was her paranormal romance Underworld. I started reading more and more dealing specifically dealing with fiction love stories. Books with an ordinary girl falling in love with…a fallen angel…a prince, a shadowhunter, or someone that was out of this world. I am still into the theme of paranormal romance, but I like to say that I’ve expanded the type of books I read. I took a class in sci-fi and fantasy books, and feel in love with The Huger Games as well as Divergent. After I read more…realistic books like The Fault in Our Stars. And when I say more realistic, I mean I am more likely to believe in two people with cancer falling in love than… a girl falling in love with an angel that fell from heaven down to Earth. Honestly, I will always read a book that someone suggests I read.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

A couple of my friends my first year in college actually had and still have very successful blogs. I’ve always wanted to start a blog, maybe start off small and just write about whatever I feel like and then expand to videos or other things. I was really close to starting a blog with my roommate my 2nd year in college; her talking about life and me talking about what I’ve been obsessed with at the time. We actually set up our page and everything, all we needed to do was sit down and write out first post together. But life happened and we both were living it. Over the past summer, I did a lot of reading and finally got the courage to start my own blog by myself. Ever since I could remember, I have wanted to be a writer. But I wasn’t the best at it. It was actually one of my long time friends that I hung out with a lot over this summer before she went to go study abroad in Norway, that told me that she also wanted to be a writer and she wanted to start a blog. She told me that she wanted to practice writing everyday as well as post some of her writing, not caring who read it. Her blog was ultimately for her, and that’s what I wanted. I love to talk. I love to talk about what I’m into. I love talking to my friends about the books I’m reading, getting them into those books and then talking, ranting and falling in love with the stories. It’s honestly my favorite thing to do. And when I blog, I feel like I’m having an conversation with a friend. And that’s how I believe I want my writing to be about; someone reading my blog as if they were talking to their best friend. That’s why I write about multiple things; music, books, and i’m slowing adding in movies. But I believe that my favorite thing to blog about is books.


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

The only way I can describe this is by listing them.
The Great Gatsby
To Kill A Mockingbird
The Odyssey (any mythology book really)
The Crucible
Their Eyes Were Watching God
The Fault in Our Stars (trying to read more John Green)
Meg Cabot books (she is the reason I got into reading)
Divergent series
The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare
If I Stay & Where She Went by Gayle Forman
The Selection series by Kiera Cass
Immortal series by Lauren Burd
Hush Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick
Fallen series by Lauren Kate

I honestly could go on forever, and I hope that I will be able to blog about them

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I want to be an author someday, but I’m not an English major. Actually, I’m a Business and Finance major. Reading and writing are things that makes me happy. I believe the thing that makes me unique is the way I write. I’ve always never done well in my English classes; my vocabulary isn’t very large (bye bye SAT English score) and I’ve never been able to write a good essay according to any English teacher that I’ve had. It wasn’t until I took a class in college about sci-fi and fantasy literature where we read quite a few books and then our final was to write a short story. It wasn’t until then when my professor told me that I was a great story teller. I’ve had this professor before in a required English class I had to take for college and she wasn’t very found of my essays, but now finally getting an A on a paper I wrote for her was amazing. Her telling me that she wanted me to expand on my story and show her another draft really encouraged me to start writing again. I believe that my writing is very personable. That, like I said, if you read my blogs or read my stories, it is like talking to me. I write like I would talk to a best friend.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

The only hint or advice I would give anyone is to be yourself. And yes, I know, that sounds very cheesy. But it is true. I write in my blog to write. I honestly don’t care if no one reads my blog because I know that one, I will probably have a conversation with my friends about what I talked about in my blog, and two, I’m happy expressing myself. I love that I can always go back to see how I felt about something.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

Honestly, a book story and great characters. It’s very simple. If I can fall for characters, then I’ll continue reading. A couple of examples being, The Mortal Instruments and The Selection. In TMI, I fell in love with the main character Clary’s best friend Simon. He was s minor character, but his personality was very real. Also, this is very bad to say, but I adored the villains in this series. More specifically the last villain in the series. I’ve had many arguments with one of my friends about how much that villain made her cringe. That if she met this villain in real life…she would beat them up. I thought that was funny because this villain was the definition of pure evil. And I adored them for that, reading on to see what they would do next. Plus it helped that the author was amazing and all her twists and turns were unexpected! If I thought that knew where the book was going…I was completely wrong.
For The Selection, which is the series I literally just finished last night, it was something that I’m not used to. The story line was really simple, but I related so much with the main character, at least in the 1st and 3rd book. I felt that if I were to write a book, I would write exactly like Kiera Cass.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

When I started getting into reading, my parents started noticing that and bought me a kindle for Christmas as well as a large amount of amazon credit to buy books.
The only time I buy a physical copy of a book is when it is cheaper than the kindle version.
I go into bookstores, but only when I’m buying a book as a gift. So technically, you can say I come into a bookstore with a list. I am more into used books; reading out of a book that someone or many others have read from before me. I like thinking that when I’m done, I will pass it to one of my friends to read and she or he will pass it on to their friend. The only time I buy a new book is when I give a book as a gift that I don’t have an physical copy of (on my kindle). I really should go to the library more. It would save me a ton of money. But I don’t. The only time I go to the library and rent a book is when I get books for school or to borrow manga.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

Trends? That’s a hard one. I guess that I follow trends in the books that I am reading, as I said before with the paranormal romances. But the only trend that I love seeing is very strong female role models. One thing that I have yet to read and would love to is reading a book like the ones I have been reading from a strong male point of view. I know they have spin offs of books series, reading the point of view form another person, but for some reason I cannot wrap my head around the idea of that. I have no idea why. Maybe, it’s because when I finish a series it takes a mental toll on me. Which sounds silly, but true. I recently just finished The Selection series and I am hurting knowing that there isn’t any more books I can read. So once I get into another series, the pain will stop. I could read about the point of view of both the love interests in the main character’s life in separate books, but I don’t know yet about spin offs. Maybe one day.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

This is why I have my blog!
I recommend my favorite series always.
I remember at the end of my first year of college, I started reading The Mortal Instruments when I really should have been studying for finals. Oops. But my roommate went through the journey with me. I would always stop whens something crazy happened, which was often, and either rant about it or just make a comment. It got to a point where she was basically reading the book through me. But when the biggest twist happened at the end of the first book, I refused to tell her to the point where she bought a copy of the book and read it over the summer. She fell in love and read the next couple of books in a week. And that was a great feeling, knowing that I recommended a book she absolutely adored. She actually finished the series before I did.
I actually have a couple of friends now that always ask me for recommendations for books to read. Which is anther reason why I started up my book blog. As of right now, most of my friends (including my friend’s mom and aunt) have read and finished The Mortal Instruments off of my recommendation of reading the first book. They all loved it and continued reading. I enjoy giving books as gifts during the holidays. Last year I bought two books for my friends;The Mortal Instruments for my friends that haven’t read it yet and Fallen by Lauren Kate for the friends that were looking for a series. And it was a successful Christmas, all my friends loved the two books. This Christmas, I will be getting my friends The Selection. Those right now are the three series that I recommend any book lover!

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

My blog has different attributes to it. Not only is it a book blog, but it is a music blog as well. Because my blog is new, about 4 months old, I have been trying to get into the groove of things; balancing school, work, clubs, my blog, and other things. I’ve recently have been getting a lot of time to blog which I have been taking advantage of. In a month, I have been blessed with the opportunity to be able to go to the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah. And get college credit for it. I’ve always wanted to do movie and film reviews for the longest time, and this will definitively give me a huge push in that direction. I will most definitively post reviews on the films I see at Sundance (on my blog as well as on my college’s blog), and hopefully that will make it easier for me to start writing reviews even after.

Anything else you’d like to add?

I appreciate the chance to be able to do this and promote something that I am very fond of. I love blogging and hope to continue doing this for as long as I can. Thank You!

Thanks Megan!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here.

One thought on “Behind the Blog: Megan at Color Me This Way

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: January 2015 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

