Behind the Blog: Cynthia at Bingeing on Books

Behind the BlogHelloooooo Cynthia from Bingeing on Books!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am 34 years old and living with my husband in Naples, Italy! He works for the US Navy, so we are here for a bit. I spend my time reading, traveling and spending time with my dog.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I found that I love books and reading so much but I didn’t really have anyone to talk to about them. When I read a book that is just so good I am thinking about it for days. I want to share it with everyone!


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I like to think a little bit of everything, but I gravitate towards YA, science fiction, romance, adult fiction, historical fiction. Sometimes I will read nonfiction but I have to be really passionate about the subject or I get bored.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I feel like I gravitate towards a wide range of books and not just a specific genre, unlike other bloggers. So I think the books I read would appeal to a wide range of people.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Yeah, visit other blogs! No one knows you are there unless you reach out the fellow blogging community. And there are so many wonderful bloggers out there. And the community is why I started my blog!

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

Good plot or relatable characters. The characters don’t even have to be likable, but I like to be able to relate to them in some way. Typically I read the first page of a book. If I want to keep reading, then I get it!

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

Since I live in another country, I don’t have my pick of libraries. And the library on base has slim pickings. But generally, when I walk into a bookstore I browse, much to the displeasure of my husband. He likes to read, but he does not love bookstores the way I do. Sometimes a title will catch my eye that has been on my TBR list for a while. But it’s great just wondering the aisles and seeing what catches my eye!

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I really enjoy dystopian novels so I would love to see more of that.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
The Gone series by Michael Grant
Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Well my blog is still pretty new, but I plan on doing my first giveaway soon. 🙂

 

Thanks Cynthia!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here.

4 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Cynthia at Bingeing on Books

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: January 2015 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

