Reading Outside The Box Wrap Up

The end of 2014 is here! Can you believe it? The big challenge around here was the Reading Outside The Box challenge.

reading outside the box

I challenged myself and you to read a wide variety of books this year. Some might be pretty normal for us; other books were really different types of books.

My experience

I did a check in post back in May. Once again some of the books I read reassured me the types of books I like. “The Interrupted Tale” by Maryrose Wood was a pleasant reminder that I should really read more Middle Grade books. They can be a real breath of fresh air. “Eleanor & Park” by Rainbow Rowell wasn’t different than what I normally read but it was a good way to fill my Young Adult fiction square. “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott reemphasized the fact that even though I struggle a bit with classics, children’s classics seem to be the best option for me.

“Keep Your Enemies Close” by H. S. Stone really highlighted the fact that Self Published books are sometimes worth wading through. You can really find some good books if you can dig through the other books. I don’t actively seek out books that are award winners but “When You Reach Me” by Rebecca Stead made me think I should change that. The book was just a really pleasant surprise. I probably won’t see out award winners in all the genres out there but I might try some in the circles that I enjoy. Reading massive books isn’t one of my favorite things but they so much easier to read when you’re reading about characters you already enjoy as with “Dreams of Gods and Monsters” by Laini Taylor.

“Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers” by Mary Roach dipped me back in the world of non-fiction. I found it to be pretty readable which was a pleasant surprise. There were some chapters that bored me but overall it was pretty interesting and a bit gross. Another pleasant surprise was “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie” by Alan Bradley. I know I like mysteries well enough but I don’t read that many of them. I should really start adding a few more to my reading diet. They’re a good change of pace from my sci-fi/fantasy staples.

I’ve been meaning to read “Shades of Grey” by Jasper Fforde for quite a while. I’m glad this challenge pushed me to finally read it. I really should fit more adult fiction into my schedule.

I gave “Seraphina” by Rachel Hartman a second chance. It was enjoyable so I’m glad I came back to it when I was in a better mood for it.

“Mockingbird” by Kathryn Erskine was a great pick for contemporary fiction. MG contemporary can be a real shot the heart. They know how to gut you.

It was nice to read “The Princess Diaries” by Meg Cabot again but I still didn’t love the books. I’ll stick with the movies.

“Lawn to Lawn” by Dan Yaccarino looked cute but ended up being a bit disappointing.

Your Prizes

The super awesome Sabrina from Books and Bark made badges for all of us! There are no real winners or losers because we’ve all expanded our horizons.

For the “winners” who read books for each and every square, here is your badge:

Bigger image here.

The Cheap Reader

For those who read many different books but didn’t quite make it to all 25 books, you get a badge as well.

Bigger image here.

The Cheap Reader

Thanks for participating!

3 thoughts on “Reading Outside The Box Wrap Up

  1. Thanks for the shout-out and for inspiring me to take on the Reading Outside the Box challenge too! It was a lot of fun, and I read some great books that I might not have otherwise chosen to read.

    Are you planning to take on another reading challenge in 2015?

    • You’re welcome!

      Other than the basic Goodreads reading challenge, I’m not planning on taking on any challenges next year. I’m feeling a bit burnt out blogging wise so I’m going to take a step back and see where the year takes me reading wise.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: December 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

