Favorite Books of 2014

I’m going to do my own little award show of sorts. These are a few of my favorite books of the year. Some of the awards will be for books published this year. Other awards are for books that I read this year.

Favorite Book Published in 2014
The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick

Favorite Fantasy Book

Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale

Favorite Science Fiction Book
All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

Favorite Contemporary Fiction Book
Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Favorite Historical Fiction Book
In The Shadows of Blackbirds by Cat Winters

Favorite Series DiscoveredRuby Red Trilogy by Kerstin Gier

Favorite Series Ending in 2014
Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Favorite Middle Grade
Dealing With Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

Favorite Book Out of My Norm
Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth

Favorite Indie Book
Thorn by Intisar Khanani

What are some of your favorite books read this year or were published this year?

7 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2014

  1. I loved that you selected your favourite books by category, like it were an award show! It is much easier to pick that way. I love that you always include Indie book as well, it is so important to help great authors get the word out about their books.

    Attachments and All Our Yesterdays were on my favourites list this year as well. They are soo good. I haven’t read In The Shadows of Blackbirds but I’ve heard excellent things about it and it’s already in my wishlist. Both of Cat Winter’s books actually

    • It’s always good to have multiple favorites. 😀

      I read both of Cat Winters’ books this year. They’re both a great mix of historical fiction and paranormal.

  2. Book of A Thousand Days! Attachments! Dealing with Dragons! Ruby Red! So many great books on this list. I’ve wanted to read Thorn ever since I read your review a couple of months ago. My library doesn’t have a copy, so I’ll probably just buy it. Even if I don’t like it, that cover is seriously gorgeous. I wouldn’t mind seeing that on my bookshelf everyday.

  3. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: December 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

