Behind the Blog: Barb at Booker T’s Farm

Behind the BlogWelcome to Barb from Booker T’s Farm!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I live somewhere in WV and have wanted to be a steady blogger for sometime. I have 2 four-legged children and combine my love of reading with the love of my pets and family. I work full time, but read whenever I can. I also love movies, football and spending time with family.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I have read blogs for many years and just finally thought – hey, I can do that. I am learning as I go along, but enjoy posting when I can.

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

My favorite of all time is Stephen King, but I read a variety of genres. In particular, YA, horror, urban fantasy, fantasy, contemporary and some romance. I am giving a few sci-fi books a try after recently seeing some interesting reviews on booktube.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I think what is unique about me is that my blog includes my dogs as much as I can. Booker T’s Farm is actually a fictional location about which my husband and I make us stories with us and the dogs as the leading characters. As far as my perspective on books, I think I provide fair reviews and cover some books that aren’t your typical blogger books.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Not really, but I am always looking for some.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I am a sucker for any books with dogs on the cover – go figure huh? Also, I love books with gothic, and am particularly drawn to dark, horror-like concepts. Like I said, King is my favorite author.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I always have a list and as soon as the library emails me about new publications, I make notes on what I want to eventually read. I like print and ebooks, but our town spent about 2 years without a bookstore, so I basically got away from going in someplace and just browsing. I can spend hours at the library though if time permits.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I like such a variety, that I don’t really want to see more of any one thing. I am really enjoying the books like Asylum and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children which combine a prose with associated pictures.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Books by King or basically anything I think that person would be interested in. My mother also reads, but we read TOTALLY different stuff and I am always trying to slip some different genres in on her to see if she might enjoy them.

Thanks Barb!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

