Initial Impressions: “Dorothy Must Die”

Initial Impressions is a feature where I read the sample of a book and share my initial thoughts on the book. This may help me decide if I want to read the full book in the future.

“Dorothy Must Die” by Danielle Paige

Goodreads

 

Sample length: 5 chapters

Thoughts: I always enjoy when stories fully acknowledge the source material. So seeing Amy come from our world complete with the books and movies of the Wizard of Oz was interesting. I liked the small hints we got about how this isn’t the Oz we know. Dorthy is bad news and so is Glinda.  I do hope this means the Wicked Witch really is a good guy.

Am I going to read the book in the future? Possibly. I’m intrigued to see how other things play out even though I’ve never read the books and vaguely know the movie.

4 thoughts on “Initial Impressions: “Dorothy Must Die”

  1. This sounds like an interesting book! I like the premise that the good guys in the version of the Wizard of Oz that we’re familiar with have turned bad. I’m adding this book to my TBR list.

  2. I read the prequel for this book and was not very impressed. It also included the first chapter of this one and I also wasn’t that impressed. That said, I still do really want to read this sometime. I look forward to seeing what you think of it if you decided to read it!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

