Behind the Blog: Michelle at Pink Polka Dot Book Blog

Behind the BlogGreetings to Michelle from Pink Polka Dot Book Blog!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a mom to a 6 year old cutie and a Boston Terrier beauty. I like to read (duh), write, sleep, and get dressed up… not in that order. I love anything 90’s, the color PINK, my awesome FYA Pittsburgh Book Club, and football.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

2 1/2 years ago I started a blog on a whim just as a way to keep track of what I was reading. Then as I become more immersed in the blog world, things evolved and changed and now I review, do discussions and giveaways and all that good stuff. I still have just as much fun blogging as I did when I started, so I don’t plan on hanging it up anytime soon.

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I most read YA Contemporary. I’m starting to branch out though… The Lunar Chronicles were some of my favorite books this year, so there’s proof of my branching 🙂

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

I have tons of helpful tips for newbies. If anyone has any question (and there’s no stupid questions when it comes to blogging), email or tweet me!! also there’s this post I wrote: Advice for New Bloggers

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I’m usually drawn to books about damaged and sad people. Not really sure what the means, but that’s what I find myself reading and connecting to the most.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I follow what books come out weekly, so I usually can just go and browse and find things. Occasionally I’m at the counter with a list having things ordered, but not THAT much 😉

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

College!!! (and not the college that NA books seem to think exist, I’m talking Fangirl). Duologies are a trend I would love to become popular, others- fresh time periods (50’s, 70’s, 90’s), unconventional format books.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Cinder, Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas, My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzgerald, and anything Courtney Summers.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

I’m going to be on Andi’s ABC’s (http://andiabcs.com/) doing her Accessories, Books, Clothes post… I’m hoping to come up with some new and fresh stuff for 2015…. just like revamp some of my stuff and make it more exciting.

Thanks Michelle!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

One thought on “Behind the Blog: Michelle at Pink Polka Dot Book Blog

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: November 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

