Book Review: “The Blemished”

“The Blemished (The Blemished #1)” by Sarah Dalton

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Dystopia

Source: Bought in a boxset

Other books in The Blemished series

Summary from Goodeads:

A beautiful world comes at a price…

In a world filled with stunning clones Mina Hart is Blemished. Her genes are worthless and that takes away her rights: her right to an Education, her right to a normal life and her right to have a child.

Mina keeps a dangerous secret which she never thought she could share until she meets Angela on her first day at St Jude’s School. But their friendship is soon complicated by Angela’s adoptive brother Daniel. Mina finds herself drawn to his mysterious powers and impulsive nature. Then there is the gorgeous clone Sebastian who Mina is forbidden from even speaking to…

The Blemished is a frightening take on a fractured future where the Genetic Enhancement Ministry have taken control of Britain. It will take you on a ride filled with adventure, romance and rebellion.

 

reviewI liked Mina but sometimes she made really stupid decisions. Mina has a big secret that made her family move but she spills the secret to her new friend? Things also worked out too conveniently for her. She spilled that big secret to someone she just met and the person happens to be willing to keep her secret.  Mina has special powers and just happens to run into someone who has powers as well. Mina is Blemished but still has a GEM boy fall for her. Little things like that annoy me.

I could tell there’s going to be a love triangle. Daniel has powers like Mina. Sebastian is a clone who is out of her league. 2 different boys, how ever will Mina choose?!? As if a love triangle wasn’t annoying enough, it developed into a love square. It made me roll my eyes. I wish the boys’ characters were developed a bit more. They seemed a bit blah. Hopefully they become more developed in  the other books.

Now that I’ve complained a bit, I can say over all I did enjoy the story. It was unique but had familiar themes. The idea of the Blemished reminded me of Uglies and how being normal was seen as unacceptable. The story moved quickly along and kept me wanting to read. I never grew bored and never knew where the story was going to take me. As always, I wanted to know more about the world and how we got to this point. I wanted more background knowledge. We did learn a bit and it was always given in a good amount. It was snuck in around the story so it never felt overwhelming.

The bottom line? Pretty enjoyable with a few small annoyances!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Blemished”

  1. The cover looks really intriguing – it almost made me think this was a period story with that gorgeous silhouette of a house! I feel like I wouldn’t really enjoy this though – love triangles and MC’s who make silly decisions annoy me too much. But it’s great that you did enjoy this one overall!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

