Behind the Blog: Kayla at My Corner of the Library

Behind the BlogA big welcome to Kayla from My Corner of the Library.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am an English major with publishing dreams! I came into the world of book blogging to take my personal writing to an audience. I want My Corner of the Library to be a reading lifestyle website.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I wanted to reach an audience of people who love words, writing, YA novels, and the life and culture of being a reader.

 

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I love YA literature and the classics, but I believe that it doesn’t matter what section a book comes from if it is truly a good book. I also like books that take place abroad or feature the paranormal. To me, the best books are the books that have something meaningful to say.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I started my blog with the tagline, “A College Student Who Wishes She Were a Writer Instead”. I volunteered at a library for years, and grew up reading voraciously. I’ve always wanted to be a writer, and my blog is allowing me to share my words with others.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Keep your audience in mind. Write for yourself, but think about what you as a reader would want to read. I’ve started writing a lot of short-form pieces for the blog, but would like to branch out into long-form writing. I’ve heard that people don’t like long-form stories anymore, but I don’t think that is true. If you write with the reader in mind, you can create a great piece that people will want to read again and again.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I love Victorian and Steampunk literature. Something about that era just grabs my attention. I also like paranormal novels and strong female characters. I’m interested in alternate history, utopias/dystopias, urban fantasy, and foreign countries. It is great to absorb myself in a world completely unlike my own, and yet be able to relate to the characters so much.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I used to randomly pick books at the library, but as I’ve gotten used to Goodreads, I have more of a method to selecting books now. Since I have a list of about 120 books I want to read (and counting!), it’s nice to pick ahead of time what I really want to spend my time reading.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I hope to see more books like Die for Me by Amy Plum. I really like the Paris setting and how that plays into the undead theme of the story. I love urban fantasy.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

The Mortal Instruments/The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. Those books are just magical.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

I hope to refine my logo and bring in booklover movie reviews, long-form short stories, and the trial and error of my publishing journey.

Anything else you’d like to add?

Follow me on pinterest at: http://www.pinterest.com/mycorneroflib/

 

Thanks Kayla!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

4 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Kayla at My Corner of the Library

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: October 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

