This Week (126)

Are you a book blogger? I’d love to interview you for my Behind the Blog feature. Make new friends and gain new followers!

I’d love to feature more new-to-me bloggers!surprise me

Get to know me and my blog better with my ‘Surprise me’ button. —>

Acquired Books*

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan [bought]

Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier [Netgalley]

Reading Plans

I started The Naming by Alison Croggon the other day. It’s okay so far. Just a bit slow and too much purple prose for my taste. I’m hoping things will get more exciting now that they’ve reached their first stop.

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey is waiting for me at the library so I’ll probably get to that this week.

What I’ve Been Watching

Kill the Moon was an interesting Doctor Who episode. The moon being an egg was a bizarre idea but it brought around a really fascinating discussion. Do we kill the innocent creature to protect all those on Earth or do we wait for it to hatch and take our chances with whatever hatches from an egg that large? The Doctor wasn’t too great in this episode. It was really odd for him to just abandon them to make the decision. If he ever leaves people, it’s because he’s got something else that needs to be done. I thought Clara was right to be angry with him. Does that mean her companionship is almost over? I’d be interested to see who the Doctor is paired up with.

The 3rd season of Call the Midwife was added to Nextflix recently. I’ve seen the 3rd season but somehow missed the Christmas special.  I watched that this week. I really can’t wait for the next season.

I watched the first disc of season 2 of Bletchley Circle.  Entertaining but I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first season.

I’m still enjoying Bones. I think I’m almost to the end of season 9 though. Now I’ll have to find a new bedtime show to watch. :-/

 

What did you get this past week?
What are you planning on reading this week?

*I’m linking up to Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. I miss seeing all the good books people get! I’m sure my TBR lists doesn’t miss it though.

 

9 thoughts on “This Week (126)

  1. I think I’ve read The Naming – I’m pretty sure I read it with the title The Gift though. I’m pretty sure I liked it, especially some of the later books in the series. I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

    I still need to catch up with Doctor Who! I’m now two episodes behind and I desperately need to watch it.

  2. Me and an unknown girl from goodreads have exchanged books this week. The point was to pick up each other a book and send it as a surprise.
    So I have got the “Crime”by Ferdinand von Schirach. It is collection of stories that are based on real cases.

    Offtopic: I have nearly finished The Book Thief and am looking for something similar talking about writing style. Could you recomend me anything?

    • How fun! Exchanging books is always interesting.

      I don’t know of any other books with a similar style. The Book Thief is pretty unique. I still haven’t come across any books that are written anything like it.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

