Behind the Blog: April at A Well Read Woman

Behind the BlogA big hello to April from A Well Read Woman.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hi there! I am an aspiring romance author, book blogger, author interviewer, and a caffeinated book reviewer. When I’m not glued to my computer or a book, I am busy taming wild spiderwort, (God those things are annoying!) and propagating my ever-growing collection of African violets. I live in a beautiful historic tudor colonial with my Rock Star husband and our beloved black cat, in lovely Massachusetts, USA. 🙂

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

My friend, Author Jennifer Allis Provost, told me that she liked my book reviews on Goodreads, and that I should think about it more seriously, and create a book blog. I was already blogging my general musings, and dream interpretations, so I thought… yeah, why not?!
I’m really glad I did.:)

A Well Read Woman

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

Women’s fiction and romance are my faves, but I also enjoy fantasy and horror.
I also pick books according to the season. 🙂

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I’m not afraid to post a two star, or even a one star review. If I agree to review an Author’s work, they are getting that review, regardless. I think it can only HELP them grow as an author. I’m not here to blow smoke. 😉
Other than that, I minored in English in college, and took a ton of writer courses, so I have half a clue at what I’m looking at. 🙂

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Yes, to the authors: Look for book blogs that specialize in your particular genre. The reviewer will know that genre inside and out and can offer a PROFESSIONAL opinion of your work. If the reviewer hates erotica with a passion, and you present them with said book, they are going to tear you apart. -Simply because they hate that genre.

To the bloggers: Network! Like posts and comment on similar blogs. It will increase your visibility, and hopefully your followers too.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

As I mentioned earlier, I try to choose books according to season. During the winter I enjoy romances that take place in log cabins, where the couple is snowed in, etc. That same book would completely disinterest me in the summer!
I have recently discovered the genre of cozy mysteries. I especially like the ones that are food related! Although, which aren’t? There seems to be A LOT of cozy mysteries where the protagonist runs a bakery! LOL!

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I have browsed my local libraries online bookshelf before and set books aside online. Even then, I still browse the real shelves when I get there. It is nice though to have them picked out and all ready when I arrive! I feel like a book queen! LOL

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I’d like to see more memoirs written by people who suffer with mental and physical problems. I find them so inspiring. Specifically, Brain on Fire, My Month of Madness by Susannah Callahan, and January First, by Michael Schofield Those books will always stay on my mind and in my heart. Would love to see some new books written in similar style.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Romance, and anything my Author friends have written. 😉

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

YES, I’ve recently become a book reviewer for Double Day Books! I’m pretty excited about that!

Anything else you’d like to add?

Thank you very much for the interview! This was a lot of fun. 🙂

 

Thanks April!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

9 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: April at A Well Read Woman

  1. Pingback: Behind the Blog! An Interview of Yours Truly | A Well Read Woman

  2. Great interview. April has reviewed my book No More Mulberries and interviewed the central character on her blog and it has been great to learn a bit more about her and why she does what she does.

  3. Enjoyed learning more about you, April! Sounds like you enjoy a lot of different genres and the seasons that accompany the stories. I have some vampire characters that run a bakery…but I don’t know if you’d find that too “cozy.” LOL.

  4. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: October 2014 | The Cheap Reader

  5. Pingback: AWRW October Reading Roundup | A Well Read Woman

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

