Movie Review: The Maze Runner

“The Maze Runner”

Source: Saw in theaters

More about the series

Summary from IMDB:

Thomas is deposited in a community of boys after his memory is erased, soon learning they’re all trapped in a maze that will require him to join forces with fellow “runners” for a shot at escape.

reviewIt’s been a while since I read The Maze Runner. I wasn’t terribly impressed with the book but I enjoyed it well enough. I think my fuzzy memory of the book really helped my enjoyment of the movie. I remember the basics of the storyline but that’s about it. That allowed me to enjoy the movie as a separate thing from the book. I wasn’t able to pick out mistakes or differences from the book.

As an action-y, mystery movie, the film did pretty well. There was lots of suspense. There was lots of action. There was a good big of mystery. I enjoyed myself a good deal. Unfortunately it was like the book in that only a few questions were answered but many more questions were raised.

Character development and growth were severely lacking. That’s to be expected with a cast of characters this large. I did grow to like some of the characters this time around. I guess seeing them made a bit of difference. I wouldn’t say I really got to know any of them.

The biggest thing the movie has working for it is the look of the maze. I was really impressed at how cool everything looked. The grievers were terrifying looking but I still appreciated the effort that went into how they look.

The bottom line? Enjoyable action movie. It finally motivated me to pick up the next book in the series.

8 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Maze Runner

  1. I wasn’t too impressed with the book either, so I wasn’t planning to watch the film, but if they do an adaptation of the whole series, I think I’ll give it a shot so I can know how it all ends. I’m glad to know that the film is enjoyable!

  2. I had a feeling the movie could do a better job of the characters, I’m glad to hear that it did. Yeah, I wished a bit more would’ve been explained too. (I didn’t care for the sequels) I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I want to. Nice review! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: October 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

