Behind the Blog: Swathi at Give Me The Books

Behind the BlogGreetings to Swathi from Give Me The Books.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I love books. Well, that’s probably obvious since I blog about them. It all started with Harry Potter, when I was 7, and my parents made my read them. Before that, I used to think reading was an arduous task, but Harry Potter changed that for me. That’s why I’m such a huge Harry Potter geek. One of my most prized jewelry possessions is a Harry Potter bracelet I bought off Etsy. My phone case is the Marauder’s Map. So it’s fair to say that I’m obsessed. But mainly, I like to read young adult books. I like paranormal, fantasy, contemporary, dystopia, and I’ll occasionally venture out of those genres, but that’s mainly what I review.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

One day, I was walking, and I thought “What if I made a blog about BOOKS?” It just sort of came to me like that. Then I wrote up a introduction post and my first official review, and bam! Give Me The Books was born. I have blogged on other blogs before, but Give Me The Books is exclusively for books.


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

Most of what I read is young adult, but I’ll occasionally venture out and read middle grade books as well. Adult books are something I tend to steer clear of, because, first of all, I’m not an adult, and second of all, I don’t feel comfortable reading some parts of adult books- if you know what I mean. Sex scenes make me really uncomfortable. There. I said it.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I feel like I’m younger in the world of book blogging. I’m a 9th grader, and I have seen some other high school students in the book blogger community, but I haven’t seen too many. I think the way I discuss plots of books, when I make a more plot based review, is more blunt than most reviewers use. I’ll say what I feel in an uncensored way- meaning I swear sometimes. I feel like that’s something that bloggers don’t really put in writing. Book vloggers swear, but bloggers tend to be cleaner regarding the language they use, and I think that makes me a little different from the norm.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Don’t be afraid to alter your reviewing style. I’ve recently made some changes to formalize my reviews, by putting a star rating, and the blurb of the books I review, because I saw other bloggers doing that. It’s not a bad thing to learn from other’s techniques, and I think a lot of people tend to think that there is something wrong with that, but there isn’t. We’re a community, and we should help each other.
I also think you should go check out others’ blogs and comment, and try to make conversation. It’s just nice to have people you can connect with through this community, even though you may not be living in the same city/state/or country. I think that’s really cool.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I’m from San Francisco, so when a book takes place in California, or San Fran, I’m drawn to it. Strong female characters who speak their mind, and are snarky, and funny attract me. Well, any character who do those things attract me. Personally, I tend to move toward the fantasy/dystopia subgenres, but I can still enjoy a good contemporary.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I want to see more strong fantasy on the book scene. I think that right now, dystopia and contemporary is getting all the attention, because of all the movies that are coming out, and they are great books, but I’d like to see more fantasy.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Rainbow Rowell Books, Cassandra Clare Books, Vampire Academy, Bloodlines, The Darkest Minds, and Jennifer L. Armentrout’s books are the main books that I recommend on a daily basis.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Well, I recently contacted an author, who generously agreed to provide me a review e-arc for her book. It’s the first arc I’ve ever received, and that’s an exciting milestone in my book blogging journey.

Anything else you’d like to add?

Don’t be afraid to start blogging on impulse. The details will form as you go. It is a lot of work to keep your blog updated, but when you start, you’ll find a way to continue. And, it’s a great pastime, so why not?

 

Thanks Swathi!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

4 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Swathi at Give Me The Books

  1. You had me at Harry Potter. I still remember when it first came out and the first time I read it. Instant love. I am still waiting for my acceptance letter.

    I am also a massive hp geek with a bunch of jewelry, a wand or two, a mauraders map and a deathly hallows tattoo.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: September 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

