Initial Impressions: “Atlantia”

Initial Impressions is a feature where I read the sample of a book and share my initial thoughts on the book. This may help me decide if I want to read the full book in the future.

“Atlantia” by Ally Condie

Goodreads

 

Sample length: 3 chapters

Thoughts:

This is not a mermaid book which is what I thought it was when I skimmed over the summary. The idea of people living underwater is a bit odd. It must be some really secure structure for that to work. It’s forgivable that there weren’t more details on that in the sample.

In a lot of ways, the story has some pretty predictable elements: teens of a certain age choose their fate (below or above), protagonist makes a hard choice for the family, and loved one makes a shocking choice. I think we even met what I can only assume will be a potential love interest in the first 3 chapters.

Am I going to read the book in the future? Probably not. Condie’s writing is nice but the story isn’t grabbing my attention enough to make me want to read more.

7 thoughts on “Initial Impressions: “Atlantia”

  1. I really enjoyed Matched, but Crossed and Reached were SO disappointing for me, so I’ll be curious to hear more about this story. So far though, it sounds a little flimsy. :-/

  2. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: September 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

