Behind the Blog: Aubrey Joy at Pointe Taken

Behind the BlogHello to Aubrey Joy from Pointe Taken.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a 15 year old dancer who is obsessed with reading. I am in ballet, pointe, tap, jazz, lyrical, and modern dance classes. I started dance when I was 5. I have one younger brother who is 13 and I will be a sophomore in high school.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I’ve always loved reading and I first found BookTube on YouTube and thought I would want to do that, but decided I like my written words more than my spoken words. I also felt it was more accessible because people can’t always watch videos. I love writing reviews and I started with my reviews because my friends didn’t really care when I told them about the book I had just stayed up all night reading. 🙂


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

YA books mostly. I love Cassandra Clare and John Green.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

In my reviews I say which character I would choose to be in the story and tell why. I haven’t seen anyone else do that. I am also still in high school. I feel that reviews of YA books should be done by young adults.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Be yourself and post what you’d want to read! This is what everyone says, but it’s so true. Don’t post things you don’t think are you!

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I love books that are set in England. I have always wanted to visit England and right now traveling through stories is the only way I can get there.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

This is a tough question, honestly. It depends. If it’s a book in a series that I’ve read cough City of Heavenly Fire cough cough then I will go and buy that book, but usually I just got and browse.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

More fantasy! I love love love fantasy books. Graceling is one of my favorite books. Oh, and magic. If anything can get me reading, it’s something like Harry Potter.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

The Fault in Our Stars. The Mortal Instruments. Graceling. We Were Liars.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

I hope to add more memes soon! I love doing them and consistency is a big thing for me 🙂

Anything else you’d like to add?

I hope you consider me on your blog! I love reading your posts 🙂

 

Thanks Aubrey Joy!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

3 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Aubrey Joy at Pointe Taken

  1. Pingback: #FridayReads (12) | ♡ Pointe Taken ♡

  2. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: September 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

