What I Want To See Less Of (2)

I thought it would be fun to talk about what I as a reader would like to see less of in Young Adult (and Middle Grade) books.

Friendships Being Pushed Aside For “Love”

How often are we introduced to a pretty cool friend/best friend character in a book only for the friendship to be severed when the love interest comes around? I hate the idea that friendships go away when a boyfriend/girlfriend appears. It bugs me because it perpetuates the idea that people can only have one relationship going and are somehow unable to juggle a relationship with a significant other and their friends. I say that’s bunch of BS and would love to see more books where friendships stay the same or get better despite a character being in a relationship.

Mysterious Boys Showing Up At School

There’s nothing that makes me run faster from a book than the mysterious boy showing up at school and the girl who is inexplicably attracted to him. What? Girls can only be attracted to mysterious boys? To me it sounds SO stupid and incredibly overdone. Seriously if you glance over many of the summaries of paranormal YA books, you’ll find this (or a variation of it) in at least half of them.

Special Snowflakes

I’m so annoyed with protagonists (or other characters) who have no prior knowledge of his/her ‘world’, skill, power, etc magically being the best at whatever it is. I don’t buy it. I know sometimes people are naturally inclined to be good at things but that doesn’t mean they are the best. I would love to see more characters who try his/her new powers, skills, etc and be decent at it (but not the best).  Let that motivate them to work harder and slowly work up to being the best.join-thefun

 

What do you want to see less of in your books?

I’m talking about what I Want to See More Of over here.

Future installments of What I Want to See Less Of are here.

9 thoughts on “What I Want To See Less Of (2)

  1. I haven’t read many stories with friendships pushed aside for love, but I wouldn’t like those either. However, I completely agree with you about the mysterious boys. I don’t even bother reading a book if that’s that plot line. And why are there so many books where the girl chooses the bad boy? What is that teaching the young, impressionable readers who read them? That girls should only date bad boys? That boys should be bad to get the girls?

  2. I agree with every single one of these! Publishers and writers seriously need to stop it! The worst on this list, though, is the “mysterious boy” one. The word they always use is that the girl is “inexplicably attracted to” the new boy. Ugh.

  3. I want to see less of the DLT – dreaded love triangle. In fact, the number of love triangles I want to see is, precisely, zero. Zero of them. No more. It’s been done to death, the dead horse is dog food.

    I also want to see less of the female protagonist with no female friends. I am tired of books where the MC is so special that all of the boys love her and all of the girls are jealous of her because their boyfriends always fall for her even though she isn’t interested.

    • I completely agree with you there. Love triangles have always been boring for me but they are completely boring now because of how abused they are.

      That’s another good one. I can’t take books seriously when they do that.

  4. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: September 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

