Behind the Blog: Carissa at The Bookworm Insider

Behind the BlogHello to Carissa from The Bookworm Insider.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Ugh. I hate talking about myself. Um…
I LOVE to read. This might be obvious since I’m a book review blogger, but I’m saying it anyway. I read all the time. If you come across me on the street, or at school, or in my home (though that would be creepy), nine times out of ten you would find me reading. I read all genres of YA books- Contemporary, Fantasy, Sci-Fi.
That’s me!

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

A loooong time ago, back when I was 8-ish I started blogging book reviews because I needed an outlet to share my love of reading. Of course, my writing/reviewing style, reading choices, and my blog has changed a LOT.


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

Like I said above, I read any genre of YA. I’ll read Sci-Fi, Utopian, Dystopian, Futuristic Fantasy, regular Fantasy, Contemporary, you write it, I’ll read it. 😉

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I think I’m younger than most of the YA bloggers around. I know there are some Teen Bloggers, but I’m on the lower end of the ‘teen’ spectrum. Being young(er) I think had given me a unique vantage point on books.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Just try to blog consistently no matter how hard it is. Its a lot easier to blog and write if you do it consistently. If you don’t write for a week or two, it’ll be even harder to write posts after not writing. Does that make sense? Sorry that’s a bit of a ramble. 😉

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

Covers. I feel really bad about this, but sometimes I pick books out based on covers. If it has a girl with a sword on it, I’ll be more inclined to pick it up than if it was, say, a girl posing ¨sexily¨ on the cover.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

It depends. I either just comb the New books section or wander around the library aimlessly. Most of the time though, I put books online and my INCREDIBLE dad picks them up for me on his way home from work. Sometimes he goes there multiple times a week. 😛

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I want to see more dystopian/utopian & futuristic books. Some people have gotten bored of this trend, but I LOVE it.
On the other hand, I want to see less or NONE love triangles, as I hardly ever enjoy them.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

It really depends on the person. One of my best friends only reads Contemporary, and another of my friends only reads Fantasy or Sci-Fi. I do find myself forcing Cinder, Legend, and Sarah Dessen books into people’s hands, saying READ IT.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Well, I’m trying to branch out more in my blog. I’m going to try to do more author interviews, giveaways, blog tours, etc. rather than just reviews, so look out for that!

Anything else you’d like to add?

Thank you, Alison, for interviewing me!

 

Thanks Carissa!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

3 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Carissa at The Bookworm Insider

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: September 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

