Behind the Blog: Lauren at Bookmark Lit

Behind the BlogHello to Lauren from Bookmark Lit!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m 22 years old and live in a small town in Connecticut. I’ve been an avid reader since I was old enough to read; I always preferred getting a new book at the store instead of a toy. I started to get into young adult novels in middle school and would read every night before bed. Once I went to college, it was harder to keep up with reading when I had friends around all the time, the internet to distract me, and Netflix to binge-watch. I’m happy to say that once I graduated last year, I’ve been reading more and more.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I’ve always wanted to start a blog, but haven’t ever had many interests aside from reading. I got a Goodreads account back in 2010 and have casually used it to find new books and track the books I’ve read. Since I started reading significantly more over the past year, I became addicted to Goodreads and reading book reviews. It finally clicked for me that a book blog was exactly what I wanted to create.


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

My major rule with books is that as long as the plot summary interests me, I will read it! I absolutely gravitate towards young adult books more than “adult” books. In a general sense, I like young adult contemporary fiction and/or something with a little romance. In the past, I’ve enjoyed different kinds of paranormal/fantasy books as well, and have recently started getting more into those. I like chick lit as well (but hate that name!), but it completely depends on my mood! I often read a few books in a row that fall under a similar category then suddenly switch to another genre. I rarely read historical books (with one exception: Libba Bray’s Great and Terrible Beauty series) or non-fiction.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I think the thing that makes me different is that my reviews are on the “lighter” side. I like to use curse words, make fun of things in the books, and hopefully make people laugh with some parts of my reviews. At the beginning of each review, I describe the book in three words and share my first and last impression of the book – I think this is a unique feature for book blogs. I keep them as spoiler-free as possible and try to keep my tone friendly, funny, and relatable.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

The best tip is to just go for it! Who cares how many followers, comments, or likes you get. If you enjoy writing about something, make the blog for yourself. If you are able to make friends and gain an audience, that’s even better ๐Ÿ™‚

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

For places, any book that happens at some kind of boarding school always draws me in (such as the Private series by Kate Brian). I also like books that take place on a beach town, where a girl heads there for the summer and inevitably falls in love. I like fantasy/paranormal books as well; books that deal fairies, sometimes vampires, witches, etc. Lately I’ve been into books that deal with the afterlife too. I can’t lie that books about rich kids or rich girls also grab my attention!

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I use Goodreads to track the books I want to read. I sometimes keep a mental list of books I REALLY want to read before others, but for the most part I enjoy browsing the shelves. I love being in bookstores or libraries and just seeing what books they have that I may be interested in. I add them to my Goodreads while I’m there and investigate buying them at a later time. I have a Kindle, so I use bookstores as a good source of inspiration for what to buy next on my Kindle. I like to alternate between hard copies of books and my kindle, though, because nothing beats a real book in your hands!

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I’ve really enjoyed the emergence of paranormal books lately.. I feel like I’ve seen a lot more books dealing with people with special powers or the afterlife. I am slightly sick of the vampire plotline, but if a certain book/series really grabs me, I don’t discriminate! I hope to see more books that feature people with special powers. I’ve also noticed books with gorgeous cover art and typography; sometimes “judging” a book by its beautiful cover can be a great way to discover a new book or author.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

I always recommend that people read the Pretty Little Liars series by Sara Shepard. I’ve been reading those since the year they came out. Each book ends on a cliffhanger that makes me anxious for the next book. At this point, there’s only one left in the series and I’m going to feel pretty empty when it’s over! I also recommend that people read books by John Green, because the characters and messages in his book are lifechanging.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Since I’m just getting my blog started, I’m hoping to gain some insight from my followers on what they’d like to see next. I hope that I can start getting into a rhythm with my posts and with reading more books. I love making lists of book recommendations for people as well, so I hope to continue with those posts. I want to focus on certain seasons, emotions, moods, and genres, and make recommendations based on that.

Anything else you’d like to add?

I hope that my blog seems interesting enough to be featured! This was fun ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks Lauren!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

5 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Lauren at Bookmark Lit

  1. Nice to meet you Lauren. (Though I’ve been following your blog for a while now.) I love paranormal books too, the more unique the better. I hate that YA books have made vampires boring and common. Happy reading.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: August 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

