Behind the Blog: Em at Alwaysopinionatedgirl

Behind the BlogHello to Em from Alwaysopinionatedgirl!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a secondary school student in the UK, in the North East of England. I am a complete nerd and lover of books. I’m not really that interesting, so here’s a fact I found interesting : Dr Seuss wrote Green Eggs and Ham to win a bet against his publisher who thought that he could not complete a book with only 50 words.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I think I’m a bit like Alice in Wonderland, I just fell down the rabbit hole into book blogging. I was babysitting one evening, when I found some book blogs, loved reading them and thought why not give it a go? Even if not a single person reads my blog, it will still be good fun and it might be an opportunity to find new people to fangirl with.


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

As a teenager, I mainly read YA. I especially like dystopia, fantasy, romance and paranormal, although I am happy to try most books people recommend I read.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I think that because I am younger than your average book blogger, I have a different, more unique voice. As someone who is reading YA books when I am a similar age to most of the characters, I can easily relate to some of the problems character have and therefore read and review books differently.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

As I am relatively new to blogging, I don’t have loads of great experience to base my tips on, but I would say be yourself. Don’t blog for others, blog for yourself. Write about what you’re interested in, rather than what’s popular.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I would have to say strong, badass female heroines who are also relatable. I love the recent surge of such heroines, because I mean, when I was 11, Bella was fine. But now, after reading about Katniss and Clary and Hermione and Tris, I want more heroines like them. They don’t have to be perfect, they can have boy trouble, be insecure or cry sometimes, but at the end of the day they are string, tough and resilient. They fight their own battles.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I usually have a vague idea of what I want to, but whenever I see a cheap book that looks good, I buy it. Its a terrible (or maybe not so terrible…) habit of mine. I just spend all my money on books. I can browse bookstores for hours even if I have an exact list of what I want to buy.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

Definitely dystopia and post-apocalyptic books. I love reading books about a world that is falling apart. The world building is often so impressive.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

This is difficult, I recommend books to people all the time. It just depends on who the person is and their past history with book. But books I find myself recommending regularly would have to be:
– Harry Potter
– The Fault in our Stars
– Noughts and Crosses
– The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Not especially, that I can think of, but I will have finished my first challenge by the end of August. I will have the entire of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban in French.

Anything else you’d like to add?

I just want to thank The Cheap Reader for allowing me to appear on her awesome blog.

Thanks Em!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

2 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Em at Alwaysopinionatedgirl

  1. Nice to meet you Em. Don’t sell yourself short, you sound plenty interesting. I’m the same way, all I buy is books. I’ve even gotten so bad that I think of money in terms of how many books it will buy. ($20! That’s five books!)

  2. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: August 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

