Behind the Blog: Sabrina at Books and Bark

Behind the BlogHello to Sabrina from Books & Bark!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hi there!

My name’s Sabrina, and I’m a teen writer/blogger/dog lover. I’m a total bookworm and science fiction television addict. Some of the many things I’m obsessed with include writing, NaNoWriMo, my dog, fonts, and science fiction. I’m a shelter volunteer, and I write all genres. My first novel is a young adult science fiction, and my current work-in-progress is a YA realistic fiction.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I actually first started blogging because of books! As I said, I’m a total bookworm, and when I heard that you could get free review copies, I was hooked. Of course, my blog went on to bigger and better things–oftentimes, my own writing–but I still review books! 😀


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I love young adult fiction, seeing as I’m a teen, but I enjoy the occasional adult fiction book. I honestly love any genre, but my favorites would have to be science fiction, fantasy, and realistic fiction. I even read nonfiction–but for some reason, I have a strict aversion to historical fiction..

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I’m a very quirky teenage girl, as I describe myself. I like relating books to other books to describe them–not just books by the same author, or whatever, but any book that may have the slightest relation to the book I’m reviewing.
I also tend to write very long, descriptive reviews of books, without any spoilers (although sometimes, I admit, they are necessary).

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Write what you love. For the longest time, I just blogged about arbitrary things. But when I started writing about things I was passionate about (writing!), I started to get more traffic to my blog. And it’s because my blog posts became better, and stronger.
Also, it’s really cool to use graphic design tools (some are completely free, such as PicMonkey) to design your blog’s button and header. It makes your blog look much more professional–plus it’s fun to design!

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

Well, I’m ashamed to say this… but… great covers. I know. hides head in shame But I really love the covers. If there’s fantabulous art, something tells me there’s going to be fantabulous writing as well. And though that’s not always the case, well… it’s hard not to judge a book by its cover!
Also, book titles. I’m not ashamed to admit it. I’m drawn to one-word, catchy, intriguing titles, like “Divergent” or “The Hunger Games.” I’m much less likely to pick up, “The Three Gentlemen Who Went Shopping on Tuesdays.” (No, thankfully that’s not a real book… I think.)
I also love anything science fiction, or in space! If it’s science fiction, I’m there!

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

It depends. Sometimes, I have a list (right now, I have a long and growing one!), but other times, I’m just there to read it. But I’ve got to admit, most of the time, I do have a list of some sort. 😛

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I hope to see more strong female characters… without love interests! I think romance sometimes can destroy a book–I hardly think that the young girl will be batting her eyes over some guy when she’s being chased across the world by evil men with guns.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

I often recommend Ender’s Game to people who like science fiction. For people who like romance or realistic fiction, I recommend Paper Towns or The Fault in Our Stars. For fantasy, Harry Potter wins by a long shot. For animal lovers, I’d recommend Dewey or The Secret Life of Dog Catchers.

But honestly, I’d recommend the following books to anyone:
– A Dog’s Purpose (W. Bruce Cameron)
– Harry Potter (of course… J.K. Rowling)
– The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)

Those are my top three… although I can never get myself to read A Dog’s Purpose again. Knowing the ending is just too sad!

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Actually, yes!
I recently was nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award (which should be up Monday, July 14).
In the book reviewing world, I’m hoping to interview Shirley Zindler, who gave me her book, The Secret Life of Dog Catchers, in a Starbucks one afternoon. It’s a wonderful book, and she’s just a wonderful and amazing woman!
The Mountaintop School for Dogs and Other Second Chances, by Ellen Cooney, releases this August. But I get to read it earlier! I’m hoping to receive my ARC copy in the mail sometime this week! 😀

Anything else you’d like to add?

Well… it’s just been truly amazing being interviewed on this blog. It really made me think about what I look for in a book.(For us book nerds, it’s like what normal people look for in guys/girls!).
It’s lovely expanding into the book community, and I’m ever so excited to have discovered The Cheap Reader! Definitely one of my favorite blogs! 😀

Thanks Sabrina!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

2 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Sabrina at Books and Bark

  1. Pingback: Monthly Round Up: August 2014 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

