Behind the Blog: Inge at Bookshelf Reflections

Behind the BlogGreetings to Inge from Bookshelf Reflections!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hi! My name is Inge, I turn 22 on July 18th, and I’m a Dutch resident of Belgium with a passion for English. I’ve been an avid reader and reviewer for the past three years. I study Dutch, English, and German in Antwerp, and my dream is to live in an English-speaking country one day.

I think the best way to read a book is in a very comfy chair with the company of a purring ball of fur.

 

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I actually wrote a Facebook note about my existential crisis in a funny way, which was really well received, so I decided to create a blog. It had been an idea of mine for quite some time, but I never got around to it. Then about a week later, Karolina e-mailed me, asking me if I wanted to co-blog on her blog, so here I am!


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I mainly read Young Adult (though I’m getting increasingly more annoyed with the genre), fantasy, and funny chick lit.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I think I do pretty well at adding some humour to my reviews, which will hopefully make the readers smile. I sometimes look at the way books are translated, and I also have a different background as someone who lives in Belgium.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Oh, I’m just a newbie! I can’t pretend to have it all figured out yet. I just tend to write several blog posts on the same day, schedule them all, and review them the day before they go up. That way, I have more than enough time for reading, so I can write reviews for those.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I hate to admit it, but I am sucked in because of the cover, though I am trying to be more careful about those. I really like humour in my books. The characters have to be funny. If the main character is a whiny tit, I’ll get annoyed. I need them to be bad-ass!

An epic world-building is also much appreciated, because I mainly read books in order to escape. I like getting drawn in in world where anything can happen.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

Oh, I don’t go to the library. The English section of libraries in Belgium is to weep for.

In bookstores, I usually browse. I do look for covers I recognise from spending so much time on Goodreads, but lists are mainly for online shopping.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

Bad-ass and sarcastic main characters like Lex in Croak by Gina Damico. Less romance, fewer whiny main characters, less of that “special snowflake” chosen one crap. Stop spewing out third-degree word vomit that we’ve read a hundred times before, and bring me some originality!

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

The Harry Potter series, for obvious reasons. I also shove The Forbidden Game and Dark Visions by L.J. Smith in other people’s faces, as well as A Girl Like You by Gemma Burgess, which is quite possibly the best chick lit I’ve ever read. Really, you should check it out. hint hint

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Funny you should ask! We’ve just announced our brand new feature ‘Cider With A Writer’, where we’ll be talking with authors. Big ones, small ones, some as big as your head! Our very first author is none other than Lauren Oliver!

Anything else you’d like to add?

Sloths are awesome. 😀

Thanks Inge!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

5 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Inge at Bookshelf Reflections

    • Thanks, Melissa! We’re very excited about the Cider With A Writer feature as well. Sloths will rule the world one day!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

