Behind the Blog: Valeria at A Touch of Book Madness

Behind the BlogSay hello to Valeria from A Touch of Book Madness!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hello there! I’m a 25 year old Law Graduate with a great passion for Law, the performing arts (not including singing because I suck) and of course reading. I actually minored in theatre, and I think the ability to tell stories is very fulfilling.

I love to travel and to forge my own adventures in life, though routine makes it hard sometimes.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

It all begun when I discovered Goodreads and started to participate in some of its groups read and review programs. I had so much fun writing reviews that I wanted to have my own place where I could share my love for books and my reviews, and so A Touch of Book Madness was born. It has been a wild ride, but I have enjoyed every minute of it.


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I love reading anything within the genres of Fantasy, Dystopia, Romance, Contemporary, Paranormal and Historical Fiction, whether it is in the YA, NA or Adult categories. Although I think I tend to read a bit more YA.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

As a law graduate I’m very structured in my way of thinking, so even if I’m not a professional of the literature world, I tend to classify everything. But what’s most unique about me is that I’m Chilean and I live in Chile, which means I can bring a new perspective to the table. A Latin American view of literature and life. We can be very colourful.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

My advice would be to don’t be afraid to be creative. The worst thing that could happen is that people don’t respond, then you’ll find something new. Do what feels right to you, and don’t be afraid to show your personality.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

World building. A book or series that has an excellent world building would get to me everytime. If thw world feels real, then the story would too. It has to be conceptually sound, especially when it comes to dystopia or fantasy.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I generally go in with and idea in mind, but I always end up browsing the shelves to find my next read. I just simply don’t get tired to look at books.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

Mmm…this is a tough one. I think it would have to be Dystopia. I know this isn’t a new trend but it has certainly boomed in the last years. I really love it and all the possibilities it allows. Seriously, you can have almost every world gone wrong. Plus, I love the whole survival thing and imagining myself in all the different scenarios and how I would cope with it.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

There’s one in particular I deeply loved and I can’t get over. It’s an adult historical fiction set in medieval Spain called The Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso Falcones. Everyone should read that book. Seriously!

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Not in the near future, but on November I would be celebrating my first Blogoversary. I’m also planning to introduce a new feature in the next couple of months too.

Anything else you’d like to add?

I would love to share my favourite quote. It inspired the theme of my blog and basically it’s an idea that influences my everyday life. “No great mind has ever existed without a touch of madness” – Aristotle. I also want to thank the lovely Alison for having me on her blog, and all of you for taking the time to read till the end. Have an awesome week!

Thanks Valeria!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

One thought on “Behind the Blog: Valeria at A Touch of Book Madness

  1. Nice to meet you Valeria! I agree, world building can make or break a book. L.E. Modesitte Jr. is one of my favorite world builders. Have you ever read one of his books?

    I love your quote! Sanity is overrated. 😉

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

