Numerical Book Survey

numbersInspired by Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner, I’m going to try my hand at creating a numerical book survey.

Please feel free to play along with a post on your own blog. You can add your links at the bottom on the post.

Author You’ve Read One Book By But You Can’t Wait To Read More From Them

Patrica C. Wrede. Dealing With Dragons was a lot of fun. I don’t know how I overlooked her for so long.

Book That You Need To Give A Second Chance To

Seraphia by Rachel Hartman

I read it when I wasn’t in a fantasy mood so I grew bored pretty quickly. It seems like a book I would enjoy and many others loved it so I’ll probably give it another chance.

Favorite Trilogy

Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. They’re fantastic fantasy books.

Sequel That’s Better Than The First Book

Crown of Embers by Rae Carson. I really enjoyed the first book but Carson really stepped up her game in this book. It just intensified everything I loved from the first book.

Number Of Books You’re Reading At The Moment

3! I’m reading Sapphire Blue  by Kerstin Gier. I’m listening to Beauty by Robin McKinley in the car and I’m listening to The False Prince  by Jennifer A. Nielsen on my phone.

Recommend A Book With A Number In The Title

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

 Number of Books You’ve Read This Year

72 books! That’s crazy to think about and it’s only July.

Your Most Read Series Author

Shannon Hale. I’ve started 4 series by her: Austenland, Books of Bayern, Ever After High, and Princess Academy.

Longest Book You’ve Read

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling comes in at 870 pages.

Your Most Read Author

According to Goodreads, Roald Dahl at 15 books!

Oldest Book You’ve Read And Enjoyed

Emma by Jane Austen. It was published in 1815.

(If you need help, go to your Goodreads bookshelf and click on stats. Go to publication year and you’ll find a handy graph to the publication dates of your books.)

Longest Series You’ve Read

Harry Potter is my longest finished series at 7 books. I’m slowly working my way though the Pendragon books which has 10 books in the series.join-thefun

6 thoughts on “Numerical Book Survey

  1. This is fun!!! I think the longest book I’ve read is probably HP5, too. I’m not completely sure. There are a lot of books that I never recorded on Goodreads, so it’s questionable. Yay for lots of Shannon Hale love!

    I’ve been hearing the the sequel is even better than The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I need to read the rest of that series. Oh, and same goes with Dealing with Dragons. You might like Sorcery and Cecelia by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline . . . Something. I can’t remember her last name and I’m feeling too lazy to look it up. I think you might like that. It’s super cute.

  2. Nice survey! I’ve seen many themed surveys, but so far none of them have been about numbers. 72 books is a pretty good number for being only July and before I read your answer, my first thought of a book with a number in the title was also The 5th Wave.

  3. Author You’ve Read One Book By But You Can’t Wait To Read More From Them
    Chelsea Pitcher (She’s only written one book, the Last Changeling)

    Book That You Need To Give A Second Chance To
    The Gunslinger By Steven King (I kept trying, but was just bored.)

    Favorite Trilogy
    Infernal Devices By Cassandra Clark (I haven’t actually read many trilogies.)

    Sequel That’s Better Than The First Book
    The Son of Neptune By Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson)

    Number Of Books You’re Reading At The Moment
    2

    Recommend A Book With A Number In The Title
    Wizard’s First Rule By Terry Goodkind

    Number of Books You’ve Read This Year
    61

    Your Most Read Series Author
    4 series by L.E. Modesitt

    Longest Book You’ve Read
    A Storm of Swords By George RR Martin at 1,177 pages!

    Your Most Read Author
    48 books by Terry Pratchett and 35 books by L.E. Modesitt (I like prolific authors)

    Oldest Book You’ve Read And Enjoyed
    1951 Foundation By Isaac Asimov & The Hobbit By JRR Tolkien 1937

    Longest Series You’ve Read
    Discworld at 38, Saga of Recluse at 16

    • Whoa! GRRM’s books are massive!

      That’s awesome you stuck with that many books by Terry Pratchett and L.E. Modesitt.

      Thanks for playing, Molly! 😀

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

