Behind the Blog: Elou at Elou in Wonderland

Behind the BlogGreetings to Elou from Elou in Wonderland!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a design and production assistant working at a publishing house in London, I like to collect books, keys and old things of all descriptions. One of my goals in life is to have a goldfish circus.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I did an MA in Publishing, for which we were recommended to start a a blog. I rather liked mine and it has now grown into a place where I can shout about the books I love as well as keep up with industry happenings.


What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I like reading most things and am currently trying to widen my reading, and challenge myself to read things I otherwise wouldn’t have. I appreciate recommendations of all kinds!

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

As I design books as my job, I like to post about book design as well as reviews and more general posts, and am aiming to post a few design blogs a month, featuring cover designers, book covers I like and an insight into the world behind-the-scenes of books design.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Try not to leave your blog sad and empty for months at a time (I have been guilty of this); if you’re worried that you may not have time to post regularly, make sure you have drafts ready to go. I tend to have at least three drafts at any one time to post when I’m busy!

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

At the moment, I am very keen on books with hand-drawn waves on the covers (I’m in a pirate phase!) but more consistently, I like books in which the protagonist somehow ends up in a fantastical world (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, the Chronicles of Narnia, Catherynne M. Valente’s Fairyland series, The Book of Lost Things, Un Lun Dun and Inkheart, to name a few).

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I tend to browse but I do have a giant list of books I absolutely need to own, I have a segment of this list stored in my head at all times for those occasions when browsing just doesn’t work out. Otherwise, the list goes to family members for ideas for birthdays and Christmases.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I would currently like more pirates. More pirates in more books with beautiful covers. From browsing on Goodreads, most books, particularly teen books, which contain pirates have not-so-appealing covers.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Neil Gaiman. Anything Neil Gaiman. Anything written by Catherynne M. Valente (particularly her Fairyland series). The Inkheart trilogy. Trudi Canavan’s Age of the Five trilogy (read it, it’s good).

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

I’m working on this!

Anything else you’d like to add?

Starting up a book blog is one of the best things to do with your time – I’ve found I read so much more now!

Thanks Elou !

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

One thought on “Behind the Blog: Elou at Elou in Wonderland

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

