Behind the Blog: Stefani at Caught Read Handed

Behind the BlogHello Stefani from Caught Read Handed!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Stefani, and I’m a mismatched socks, overflowing bookshelves, pot of coffee a day, Sonic Screwdriver, paint all over my fingers, rock-paper-scissors-lizard-Spock kind of girl with alopecia. I’ve been told I “eat books” and, figuratively speaking, that’s pretty accurate.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I’ve always been one to tell my friends and family about books I’ve read and loved. A lot of my friends come to me for recommendations and that always made me very happy. I had been interested in blogging for a while but just never tried it. A few months ago I read The Maze Runner series by James Dashner and loved it so much I wanted to be able to tell everyone about it. So I started my blog to do so. 🙂

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

My favorite genres are: dystopian, post-apocalyptic, sci-fi, fantasy, YA, contemporary, and literary. I like a bit of everything.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I have a Master’s degree in Publishing Studies, so I can understand the technical side of publishing, though I don’t know if that really comes through in my reviews. I try to be as frank and honest as possible when writing my reviews, which is something several of my readers have commented to say they appreciate.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Read other people’s blogs, follow them, and comment on their reviews/posts! The book blogging community is really great and if you are reading and supporting others’ blogs, they will do the same for you.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I really like complex, damaged characters. I don’t want your cliched, typical characters. Give me ones who are screwed up, different, weird. I’m also usually drawn to the bad guy who has a reason to be bad or has a seriously interesting back story.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

Both. I usually bring a list and then end up finding several more that I want to read as well. I tell myself I’m only going to get the ones on my list, but it hardly ever works.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

More dystopian! Messed up societies, ftw. 🙂
I am also on the needing more diverse books bandwagon, but it’s so true: we need more characters from everywhere, every walk of life.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

The Humans by Matt Haig is probably my most recommended book. It is truly beautiful. I also always recommend The Perks of Being a Wallflower (my favorite book). Others: The Falls by Ian Rankin, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon, and too many others.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

It looks like I’ll be hitting 100 followers this week! I have only been blogging for a little over two months, so I’m pretty excited about that. I will also hopefully have 3,000 overall views soon.

Anything else you’d like to add?

I enjoy talking to other people who love books, so tweet me, comment on one of my posts, or find me on Instagram (stefanisloma)! ❤

Thanks Stefani !

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

One thought on “Behind the Blog: Stefani at Caught Read Handed

  1. I love the idea for this series! It’s nice to learn more about my fellow bloggers.

    Stefani we like the same kinds of characters. I’m always told I’m weird for liking the bad guys, but I can’t help it, sometimes the bad guys are just more interesting.

    I never would’ve guessed that you’d only been blogging for two months! You could write an article about getting people to your blog, I’ve been at it for over a year and I don’t have that many people at mine. Congrats on 100 followers! 🙂

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

