What I Want To See More Of

I thought it would be fun to talk about what I as a reader would like to see more of in Young Adult (and Middle Grade) books.

 Space Travel or Space Colonization

I’m thinking something along the lines of Firefly or even space colonization like in the Chaos Walking Trilogy. Outer Space is huge! Aliens don’t even need to be involved. Why aren’t there more space books? There are new worlds to be discovered! What’s it going to be like on other planets? What’s it like on spaceships? The possibilities are endless.

Friendships Between Guys and Girls

I’m so sick of seeing ‘friendships’ turned into relationships. Why can’t guys and girls be friends without any type of romance happening? I’d love to see more solid friendships. You know the kind where they stick together, help each other out, get incredibly annoyed with each other, and go to the other one for advice. There are some pretty solid girl/girl and guy/guy friendships out there so seeing something like that between a guy and girl would be awesome.

Murder Mysteries

Yes, I know the world of literature is full of them but I’m not really interested in them. I want YA or MG murder mysteries. I read Ten by Gretchen McNeil recently. It wasn’t the greatest book out there but I really enjoyed the murder mystery aspect of it. I love the spookiness in the atmosphere and the scary thought that went into all the details. I don’t know how it could be done but being able to convert the mysteries that are in procedural cop shows like Law and Order, Bones, etc into a YA novel would be fantastic!

New Adult Books That Explore How Life Really Is

I don’t think most of the New Adult books out there really grasp the real experience of stepping into the adult world. They just look like erotica lite books. I want to see a book where the character graduates college and isn’t able to find a job. I want to see the character still stuck at home with their parents. I want them to take a crappy job because that’s all there is at the moment. I want to see them unable to relate to their friends from high school. I want the freakouts that come from not knowing what to do with your life. That’s what new adults are actually dealing with, not some weird, twisted romance. Bascially more books like Fangirl.

Creative Re-tellings

I’m sorry to say but the most popular tales out there are starting to feel washed out. I like Rapunzel and Beauty but I know their stories. I want to read other tales though. There are tons of fairy tales out there that haven’t been touched. I’d also love to see books that just use a classic or fairy tale as inspiration but fill it in with a completely new story (like the Lunar Chronicles).

I love to see some modernizations of classic novels like Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre, Emma, Little Women, etc. I would be so unbelievably happy to get books like Emma Approved or the Lizzie Bennet Diaries (provided they were done well).join-thefun

 

What do you want to see more of in your books?

I’m talking about what I Want To See Less Of over here.

Future installments of What I Want to See More Of are here.

14 thoughts on “What I Want To See More Of

  1. +100 to the New Adult thing. When I first heard about this genre, that is what I hoped it would be. Those are the books that are missing. Those are the books I would have loved to read when I was a “new adult” myself. Those are the books I would gladly read now. I don’t care about the sexytimes. And if I did, there are already plenty of books out there about that. But there aren’t nearly enough books out there about young adults stepping into the real world for the first time.

  2. Clooooones. I want clones. All the clones. Can haz clones pls?

    I’m with you on the Firefly front, heh. 😀 And also on the New Adult front. “They just look like erotica lite books.” That’s exactly why I’m not getting that genre at all. 😦 I want to but in the end it’s almost always about sexytimes and while that’s nice sometimes, it’s not my main incentive when looking for an interesting book.

  3. I want to like the “Friendships between Guys and Girls” thing a hundred times. Friendships AT ALL, frankly — I could always do with seeing more literature that foregrounds how important friendships are. But yes, particularly, it would be great to have guys and girls who can be friends without one of them eventually realizing they are in love with the other one. Bah to that.

  4. I agree wholeheartedly with everything in this post.

    Space! You should check out Salvage by Alexandra Duncan. It’s about a girl who is raised in a spaceship and, though the beginning is really frustrating at times, it’s totally worth it.

    I’m so sick of the idea that guys and girls can’t just be friends. I was so excited while reading one of the last books I read because it seemed like they’d stay just friends, but then the guy had to go and develop a crush on the main character. Stupid.

    Realistic NA is everything I want in the world. I want to read about people who are in their early/mid-twenties who are going through the same shit that I am – struggling to pay rent, working and going to school and trying to make friends, being stuck in a between-jobs limbo for months on end because the job market is absolute shit. NA as it currently exists is something that I don’t want to touch with a ten foot pole. I blame 50 Shades, because I feel like it got popular around the same time that the NA market emerged, which led to the market being flooded with knock-offs. It’s so disappointing because I want to see stories about people like me, for whom romance just isn’t on the table at the moment. There are so many other important things to explore in the lives of young adults (not teenagers but not real grown ups yet, either). It’s a fascinating space but nobody seems to be buying those stories.

    • Thanks for the rec! I just added it to my Goodreads TBR list.

      Why do they have to ruin friendships like that?!

      Yes, yes, yes! There are absolutely so many other stories and things going on in our lives that have nothing to do with romance. Why can’t we explore that? It’s sad that I can’t even think of any other books besides Fangirl that deal with those stories.

  5. Agree 100% with both the friendships between genders and with the new adult. The other thing I’d like to see is more diversity, especially in fantasy/sci-fi/etc. I’d like to see protagonists of different races, sexual orientations, etc. where there isn’t a big deal made about it, but where the protagonist is just treated as a normal person, if that makes sense.

    • I’d love that too, Grace. Too many books with diverse characters seem to focus on the “differentness” of the character rather than telling the story.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

