Behind the Blog: WNK at Excellent Library

Behind the BlogSay hello to WNK from Excellent Library!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a former teacher, stay-at-home-wife/mom/writer who prefers to spend my spare time curled up in front of the fireplace with a book and a cup of tea (wintertime) or sitting on the back porch with a book and a glass of iced tea (summertime).

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I started getting free books from Goodreads giveaways, and often they’d ask for reviews, so I set up a blog on which to post them. Once I got into writing reviews, I found that I really enjoyed it and wanted to write about all the books I’ve read.

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I read a wide variety of books — from MG adventure to classics, from Christian romance to crime thrillers, from the big YA fiction titles to historical biographies.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I have a degree in elementary education, so I often look at MG and YA books with a teacher’s eye. I try to make a note if a book contains a lot of sex, violence, gore, drug use, or offensive language — I’ve found that people like to know upfront if the book contains these things, but often it’s not apparent from the description on the back cover.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

I usually schedule my posts ahead of time so that my reviews are posted the week that the books are released. I’ll sometimes post “teaser” reviews weeks ahead of time to build interest, but I’ve found that my readers generally want to hear about books they can get their hands on RIGHT NOW, so the ability to schedule posts ahead of time comes in handy.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I love reading about places that I’ve lived in or visited, and I love anything with a speculative element — especially time travel or magic. I’m fascinated with the Titanic, the 1893 World’s Fair, and retellings/reimaginings of classic stories.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), do you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

My to-read list is pretty long, so whenever I need a new book to read, I can either go over to my stack of paper books or check out my ebook “wish list.” I’ll make a special trip to a bookstore for a new release I need ASAP, but otherwise, I just like to browse when I’m at the library or bookstore.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I get tired of book trends pretty quickly, so I’d rather see more books that stand out, that are something I haven’t seen before, or a new spin on something.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

MG –
The Hero’s Guide series by Christopher Healy

YA –
anything by Neal Schusterman (esp. The Skinjackers Trilogy)
anything by Kenneth Oppel

Adult –
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
anything by Kate Morton

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

More book reviews – yay!

Anything else you’d like to add?

Thanks for the fun interview questions!

 

Thanks WNK!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

2 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: WNK at Excellent Library

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

