Reading Outside the Box: Check In (1)

It’s about 5 months into the challenge now. I’m about halfway done with my chart. I think I’m doing pretty well so far. I have to say I’m surprised with how much I like some of these books.

“Austenland” by Shannon Hale and “Attachments” by Rainbow Rowell are not my normal type of books. I don’t find ‘chick lit’ or romance books to be very interesting. I really, really enjoyed both of those though. Maybe I need to reevaluate my stance on ‘chick lit’. I absolutely won’t read all the chick lit or romance books out there but I might have to try some of the more well written ones.

Hyperbole and a Half” by Allie Brosh was enjoyable like I expected. Enjoying that biography pushed me to try another one, “Call the Midwife” for fun. I’m happy to say that I really enjoyed that as well. I should probably try more biographies in the future. I’ll try to stick with a narrative non-fiction style since that worked out so well for me.

“Inside Out & Back Again” by Thanhha Lai was my novel-in-verse book. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it! I think I really like Historical Fiction in novel-in-verse format. It’s the second book like that I’ve read in the last year and I really enjoyed both of them.

“The Neverending Story” by Michael Ende was the only big misstep for me so far. It’s not that it’s a bad book, I just think I’m a bit too old to properly enjoy it for the first time.

Everything else I’ve read so far is on par with what I normally read so of course I enjoyed them. Graphic Novels are always fun so “Stickman Odyssey: An Epic Doodle” by Christopher Ford was a quick, enjoyable read. I had already read “House of Dark Shadows” by  Robert Liparulo so listening to it was a good way to reread it. “The Demon King” by Cinda Williams Chima reminded me that I do like high fantasy but just need to be selective about the high fantasy books I read. “Emma” by Jane Austen showed me that I am a Jane Austen fan but need to take my reading slow with her to fully enjoy and understand the books. “UnSouled” by Neal Shusterman was a fantastic example of science fiction done right. “Fallen Grace” by Mary Hooper reminded me that I really like historical fiction and need to read it more often. “Erebos” by Ursula Poznanski widened my horizons to consider translated books.

How are you doing in the challenge?

If you aren’t participating in the challenge, have you read any books outside your comfort zone lately? How did you enjoy them?

5 thoughts on “Reading Outside the Box: Check In (1)

  1. After a slow start, I’m slowly picking up the pace. I’m about 40% through the boxes now. I definitely can’t keep up with your speed (as evidenced by how quickly you’re whipping through your Bout of Books!), but I’m still fairly confident that I’ll finish all 25 boxes by the end of the year. I’m dreading the Romance box, and I still don’t have any idea what I’ll read for Biography/Memoir or Historical Fiction.

    • Muaha, the only reason I’m a speed demon is because I’m furlough so don’t feel too bad.

      Yeah, romance is a bit rough. I don’t have any suggestions for you. :-/
      I really did like Call the Midwife for a biography but I have no idea if that’s even something you’d consider reading.
      I can be a bid more helpful with Historical fiction though. If you liked the Little House on the Prairie books by Laura Ingalls Wilder, try May B. by Caroline Starr Rose.
      If you want something with more excitement and mystery, try The Caged Graves by Dianne Salerni.

  2. Pingback: Reading Outside The Box Wrap Up | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

