Literature Web Series Round Up

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries started about 2 years ago. They introduced a different style of storytelling. They did a interactive web series adaption that was updated twice weekly with 3-10 minute episodes. The characters had their own twitter account and sometimes other web presences.

To me the style was completely new and different and I loved it. It’s an interesting way to tell a story but it’s a awesome way to adapt a classic. It made me want to read Jane Austen and I never had any interest before. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries has started a new trend of interactive web series based on literature. I’ll be attempting to highlight the ones I know about!

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Based on “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen

The scoop? Lizzie is a 24 year old grad student recording a vlog that turns into a project for school. The vlog captures her day to day life as well as the craziness of her family.

Completed

My verdict? I loved it! It’s what started my interest in other vlog series.

Links: Website     Twitters    Tumblr    Facebook   Youtube

Watch the playlist:

 

Welcome to Sanditon

Based on “Sanditon” by Jane Austen (unfinished novel)

The scoop? Gigi Darcy, William Darcy’s younger sister, moves to Sanditon, CA to test drive a product for Pemberley Digital. With the series, you could become a resident of Sanditon and test drive the Domino communication app along with the residents.

Completed

My verdict? I watched a few episodes before I got bored and stopped watching.

Links: Website     Twitters  Facebook    Youtube

Watch the playlist:

 

Emma Approved

Based on “Emma” by Jane Austen

The scoop? Emma Woodhouse and her business partner Alex Knightley run a lifestyle company where they help people make their lives “Emma Approved”. This vlog is there to capture Emma’s greatness.

Currently airing. New episodes on Mondays and Thursdays. On break until June 2.

My verdict? I initially wasn’t too wild about it until I read Emma. I got a much better feel for her so I’m enjoying the series more!

Links: Website     Twitter  Facebook  Youtube

Watch the playlist:

 

The Autobiography of Jane Eyre

Based on “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Brontë

The scoop? Jane is a nursing student who just took on a job as a nanny. Her vlog is a diary.

Currently airing. New episodes on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

My verdict? This isn’t as ‘polished’ as the vlogs from Pemberley are but that’s okay! I really feel more like Jane is a normal girl doing these videos. I’m really enjoying the series..

Links: Website   Other character’s websites   Facebook   Youtube

Watch the playlist:

The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy

Based on “Peter and Wendy” by J. M. Barrie

The scoop? Peter is a grown man-child trying to win his best friend Wendy’s heart. It looks like Wendy and Peter both vlog?

Just started. New episodes on Wednesdays and Fridays.

My verdict? The first 3 videos seem really promising!

Links: Website   Twitter   Facebook   Youtube

Watch the playlist:

 

How are you enjoying these web series?

Have you come across any other fun adaptions that I might have missed?

8 thoughts on “Literature Web Series Round Up

  1. I need to check out Peter and Wendy, it looks like fun. I came across an Anne of Green Gables one a couple of weeks ago. . I didn’t capture me, but from a round-up point of view I can’t even remember what it was called now!

    • There’s an Anne of Green Gables adaption?!?!? I was just saying on twitter that I would love one. Goes to youtube to try and find it

      I hope Peter and Wendy works out better for you!

    • The book and play “Peter Pan” has several titles. “Peter and Wendy” and “The Boy Who Wouldn’t Grow Up” are a few other names the story is known by.

  2. I got fed up with Autobiography of Jane Eyre — I hated the actor who plays Rochester, and I couldn’t carry on. But I loved Lizzie Bennet Diaries, and I want to try The New Adventures of Peter & Wendy! I need a new webseries to watch, anyway, while Emma Approved is (woe!) on hiatus. You saw that the Lizzie Bennet Diaries creators are planning a new series called Frankenstein MD for the fall?

    • He’s a bit odd. Thankfully he’s been gone for a while but looks to be coming back soon.

      I did hear about Frankenstein MD! It sounds really interesting.

  3. Oh, this is a really interesting post! I’ve watched most of these. I adored the Lizzie Bennet diaries and I’m really enjoying Emma Approved, though probably not as much. I think my favorite is actually the Autobiography of Jane Eyre–it’s definitely not as polished but I kinda like that. It feels very real(most of the time. . . there were a few videos that were a little too dramatic for my taste). I also got bored of Welcome to Sandition. I’ll have to check out the New Adventures of Peter & Wendy, that’s one I haven’t heard of!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

