Behind The Blog: Emma Louise at Emma Louise

A big welcome to Emma Louise!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hello (: I’m Emma Louise, I’m 23 and I’m a UK book blogger. I love books (obviously), Harry Potter, American TV, cups of tea and owls. One day, I’d like to work in publishing.

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

An author, Paige Toon recommended starting a blog when I read one of her books, The Longest Holiday. So I did. That was in May 2013 and I’m still here. I’ve had a lot of knocks, I’m on my second blog but I love it.

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I love contemporary fiction, chick-lit, romance, YA and crime.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I don’t think myself or my blog are anything special. I studied Creative Writing at University for four years so I know about the craft of writing.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Nobody runs the book blogging community. There are no rules. Just be honest in your reviews. Be nice, polite and you’ll be fine.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

If a book catches my eye, I’ll ponder over it for a week or so before purchasing. I’m quite annoying like that but I like knowing what others think before I buy. I’m easily influenced which is my worst trait.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

Covers are a big deal and so are blurbs. I tend to just stick with the genres I love.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

Chick-lit has been slammed a lot in the media recently and it’s silly. Chick-lit is one of the most well loved genres.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Harry Potter, Nicholas Sparks and Paige Toon. They’re my favourite authors. I have a HUGE recommendations list on my blog for everyone.

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

In May, I’m taking part in Mental Health Awareness Week. It’s a big deal and people are blind to it. I have a very big author taking part!

Anything else you’d like to add?

I like books.

Thanks Emma Louise!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

