Book Blogging Pet Peeves: Read More

Book (Blogging) Pet Peeves is a feature where I do a mini-rant about book blogging things that annoy me. Feel free to join in!

pardontherant

I’m a blog skimmer. I’m more than happy to admit it. I follow quite a few blogs so it’s tough to read everything. I’ve found skimming over blog posts to be pretty effect for finding the posts that I want to read completely. This especially goes for new blogs. I do enjoy skimming through a new-to-me blog and looking at what the blogger writes. I’ve noticed quite a few bloggers not utilizing the ‘read more’ tag on their posts. For those who don’t know, the ‘read more’ tag simply allows for a break in a blog post. The reader can see as much as the blogger wants and then needs to click the ‘continue reading’ link to continue reading the post.

As a reader, I like it because it makes it easier for me to skim through blog pages. I see enough of a blog post to determine if I want to read the post and I don’t have to roll past paragraphs and paragraphs per post. For those bloggers who don’t have massive posts, it’s not huge inconvenience  if they don’t use the read more tag.

However for those bloggers who do write a lot (which is awesome!), longer posts can be a bit unwieldy especially if there are many long posts on the blog. It’s also handy when encountering a book review for something I haven’t read. I can skim past the post and not spoil myself. (That’s why I do my ‘read more’ right before my review starts.)   As a blogger, I love it because it makes the blog look a lot neater. It also gives me a better idea of what people enjoy because I can see page views if they ‘read more’.

 

What are your thoughts on the subject?

22 thoughts on “Book Blogging Pet Peeves: Read More

  1. I agree with this in theory, but my feedly always cuts out everything in the post under the break, and it’s annoying to me to have to individually go to each site in order to read the rest of a post that I’d already started. For that reason I don’t use them. But to each their own!

    (I was just wondering if maybe it’s a blogger thing? WordPress doesn’t seem to do that, since you say you frequently use the read more tag, and your entire posts show up on my feedly… hmm. Maybe I’ll just look more into this, because it really is irritating to only have half of a post you want to read appear!)

      • Yes, perhaps there’s a way to rectify it. I’ll have to look into it. I would use them if I didn’t think it cut out half my content when people read my blog via feedly/bloglovin/etc, since I agree that it is cleaner and tidier.

    • Eh, I don’t mind clicking a few times if I’m interested in reading something. Guess it’s a good thing that there’s no right or wrong side to this ‘debate’!

  2. I cannot agree more! I like the read more thing, because it offers the possibility to browse what you like and keep reading that. Plus it allows me to have more posts up on my home page at a time, and it does look neater! I have to admit the last one is one of my biggest reasons for doing it.

  3. I love the “read more” option! Not really for others, but I hate the way my blog looks with a whole post in the feed. I prefer a neater look. Granted, I forget sometimes or if there’s something super important I’ll leave the whole post visible on the home page, but otherwise click here to read more!

  4. Oh huh. I have never considered doing this because it’s been so long since I visited blogs properly. I use Feedly for everything. Okay. You could be right. I will give a try to using the “Read more” tag on future posts, to tidy up the look of the actual blog page.

  5. Thanks for the suggestion! I didn’t even know I could do that until I searched around on Blogger. I just made my first post with the “Read more” feature. 🙂

  6. I was using read mores for quite a while, but then I switched because I actually find them kind of annoying. Maybe it’s just my laziness speaking, but I’m a lot more likely to read the whole post if it’s all there rather than having to open a new tab for it. I get distracted easily… I prefer a bit of extraneous scrolling rather than opening a bunch of new tabs. That said, I mostly read blogs on bloglovin’ so it doesn’t really matter to me either way.

  7. I have a layout that posts excerpts on the front page and then uses the “read more” feature, and I like it so far. When I see it on other blogs, it makes it so much easier to sort through the content and find things I’m interested in. I’ve got a relatively low tolerance for reading meme posts, so I like being able to filter those out and skip straight to reviews.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

