Listed: Beach(ed) Reads

ListedThese aren’t your typical beach reads. I’m talking literal beach here. You know kids thrown on to an island and forced to survive.


Beauty Queens
by Libba Bray

Nil by Lynne Maston


Nation
by Terry Pratchett


Are You Going to Kiss Me Now? by Sloane Tanen


Lord of the Flies by William Golding


Island of the Blue Dolphins
by Scott O’Dell


The Swiss Family Robinson
by Johann David Wyss

Recommendations from my readers:


The Different Girl
by Gordon Dahlquist


The Company
by K.J. Parker

I know there have to be more books but I couldn’t think of any!
Do you have any books to add to the list?

8 thoughts on “Listed: Beach(ed) Reads

  1. Haha, I love your take on “beach” reads! Have you ever listened to any of the audio for Beauty Queens? It’s narrated by Libba Bray and she is HILARIOUS! I highly recommend giving it a listen, even if it’s just a little one.

  2. Ha! I laughed out loud when I saw what “beach” reads meant to you here. Are we only doing books we like? I read Gordon Dahlquist’s The Different Girl lately, which is about people surviving on an island, but I didn’t think much of it. I’ll also add KJ Parker’s book The Company, which is about a group of veterans who get all their stuff together to go live on an island. Some stuff goes wrong.

    • Glad you appreciated that. 😀 It initially started as books I liked but that didn’t amount to many. Now I’m just compiling stranded on a beach books. I haven’t heard of those but I’ll have to look into them. The Different Girl’s cover is interesting looking.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

